Dead Pixels - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default Dead Pixels

I am looking into buying a flat panel monitor. I have never had an lcd monitor before, but a 21 inch CRT just wont fit in a dorm room very easily. I know that current flat panels have performance that is comparable to CRT's, but i have been reading about dead pixels. one of my friends has a monitor with a dead pixel, and it is extremely anoying. after looking into it, aparently the industry standard says it is acceptable to have up to 5 dead pixels, which i think is pathetic. Is this just a problem for cheaper screens or will i still get dead pixels if i buy a higher end lcd? what percentage of monitors get dead pixels? If i have one, will a warranty cover that?
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I was worried about the same thing when I was buying one, but mine is fine, most are. Just make sure you get a good model.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I bought my LCD at WalMart.

Why?

Because if it had dead pixels, i could just walk back in and exchange it.

Plus, I'm not a gamer, so I wasn't worried about refresh rates and whatnot. but we do watch a lot of DVDs on this monitor, and I have not seen any ghosting.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

I wouldn't worry about getting that many dead pixels, I've never seen an LCD with 1 or 2 dead pixels. I have a red one on my powerbook and it's hardly noticeable, only on dark backrounds.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

get a good monitor, i have a 17" samsung syncmaster 730b. never had a problem with it. looks ice too 8ms refresh rate also, i bought mine at circuitcity for like 350 but it had a 100 rebate on it the rebate was rather slow though. you should check out this monitor, so far ive convinced 2 of my friends to get the same one and they love it, they thank me alot
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
├ŽArchOAngel├Ž is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

so it sounds like the chances of me getting one arent that good. but if i did, would a warranty cover that? or would they simply say that dead pixels are expected? becuase some people might not be bothered by them but i would definately notice it.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
I bought my LCD at WalMart.

Why?

Because if it had dead pixels, i could just walk back in and exchange it.

Bingo!!!

The best thing when buying an LCD from anywhere is to ask what the their policy is on dead pixel's,Bigger store's like walmart and that don't really worry about getting return's,But you get some of those little mom & pop store's where the screen has to be half dead before they will let you return it
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

i know samsung has a no dead pixel warranty
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Ropponmatsu
Default

I haven't noticed any dead pixels on my 21" HD Gateway LCD. I believe Gateway's policy is based on where the dead pixels are located. They'll replace it if you have less than 5 pixels anywhere other than the edge of the screen.
__________________

Ropponmatsu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.