ddr400 pc3200 ram? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2009, 01:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

Fair enough. :P Kinda makes me wish I hadn't spent the money on that Corsair set...

Oh right. It had a $40 MIR. That I never got to turn in. Man I suck.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 02:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

so with that upgrade ill have 3gigs (2x1gb & 2x512mb), cpu still amd64 3200, and a x1650 512mb (agp), with more ram, ill upgrade to vista 64bit

are the 2 gigs worth the upgrade? im ordering soon
__________________

ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

Yes it is worth the upgrade. If you are only running 3gb there is no real need to upgrade your os as well to 64bit. Save that cash for later.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

Scan through eBay... you might find a dual core for a decent price. Or check the BST forum to see if anyone has one available.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

theres this deal on ebay. amd x2 4600 (comes with stock heatsink) +2gb patriot ddr(2x1 dual). i can bid it for $115

should i?
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 12:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

Not too bad. If you can't afford to make a major upgrade to AM2/AM2+, go for it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard ram support (need help) UpLiNk System Upgrades 4 01-26-2009 08:03 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
Looking for ddr400 RAM! Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 10-18-2007 08:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.