ddr400 pc3200 ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2009, 09:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default ddr400 pc3200 ram?

i need more ram for my Abit Ul8 mobo, i currently have this installed (Newegg.com - GeIL Value 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Desktop Memory)

any suggestions? i looked allover for a geil kit (2x512) but can't find nothing
__________________

ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

How much memory do you have installed right now?
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC-7100, Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.67ghz, 6gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600, (4) - 150gb WD Raptor X's, (2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI, Creative X-FI Titanium, Dell 3007WFP-HC @ 2560x1600, Loitech G19, Logitech G5, Logitech G51, Logitech G35
PH3N0M is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

I am going to take a wild guess at 1gb of RAM currently installed.

Take a look here I would go with the ocz or g-skill
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Memory,Desktop Memory,184-Pin DDR SDRAM,2GB (2 x 1GB),DDR 400 (PC 3200),)

2x1gb to go with your 2x512 for 3gb total.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

right now i have 2x512mb. what do i need to look at when im picking ram? do they have to have same latency, timing or voltage?
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

They don't have to, but it helps. It's best to just buy a 2x1GB set, since they'll be exactly the same, pretty much.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

I bought a 2x1gb set of Corsair, it works great. Cost me about 60 bucks though.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

I'd check to see what the max capacity of ram the motherboard can take before buying...
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

Newegg.com - ABIT UL8 939 ULi M1689 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

8GB max, so it shouldn't be a problem.

Here you go.
Newegg.com - GeIL 2GB &#40;2 x 1GB&#41; 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 &#40;PC 3200&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

That's a good deal, actually. And it has 2.5 cas instead of 3. Good find!
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: ddr400 pc3200 ram?

If I had the dough I would snap it up myself.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard ram support (need help) UpLiNk System Upgrades 4 01-26-2009 08:03 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
Looking for ddr400 RAM! Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 10-18-2007 08:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.