ddr2 vs ddr3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2008, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default ddr2 vs ddr3

So, currently running a mobo with ddr2 667. Looking to upgrade to a 1333 mobo because i have a proc that supports up to that, plus the mobo is kinda low end, it was just meant as a replacement. I've been tending to lean towards ddr2 because it's much cheaper. Is the performance boost from ddr3 worth the money to invest in a board that supports it? if not i was going to upgrade to something supporting ddr2 1066 or ddr2 1200.
__________________

jobmitsuo is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

The performance boost from DDR3 is not worth the price. They are still too expensive, and the timings on them are too loose. Although they are getting better, it will be some time before they become mainstream.

What is your motherboard anyway?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

Newegg.com - ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 LGA 775 VIA PT880 Pro/PT880 Ultra ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

prety sure that is the model. bought it to replace a asus p4pe-x that died on me. Seemed like it was time to upgrade from p4 anyway, got an e6550 in there the new board. Only problem is the board is stock 1066 and the e6550 is stock 1333. Got it clocked somewhere in between stable ... cant remember the exact fsb....
jobmitsuo is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

And were you able to go higher? Although ASRock isn't known for overclocking motherboards.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

As b1g stated, ddr3 doesnt not offer the performance to match its price right now. Maybe once nehalem comes out and does away with the FSB it will be better.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jobmitsuo
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

just went and checked. fsb currently clocked at 4X311. Couldn't get much higher without not being able to boot to windows. Could get to BIOS at about 315-318 i think. Currently the thing is idle at 34C according to sandra (and for whatever reason speedfan says 24.5C), stock HS.
jobmitsuo is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ddr2 vs ddr3

Speedfan is usually around 15C off.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200 masteroc New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-21-2007 01:09 AM
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
DDR3 worth getting? Check out these OC charts..... Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 26 08-27-2007 01:07 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.