DDR2 timings?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2006, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default DDR2 timings??

i bought some PQI DDR2 pc2-5400 2gb...timings are 4-4-4-12. but i noticed the 2 boards i want..

http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?p=MB-AB9&c=pw

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012

Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets


so my question is will my ram stil work ? can timings be rasied to suit?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Your RAM will work. You just need to change the timings and voltage in the BIOS to get the speed out of them.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ok cool. i've built a bunch of pC's for myself and others, but this is first time im going "BIG" as it were. I sued to just buy ECS mb&cpu combos from fry's and buy cheap ram. never had to deal with ram timings and all that.
badkitty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.