Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2007, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

I'm pondering upgrading to a Socket 939 MB that supports my older DDR Ram.

I'm curious if I should just hold out and save up for a MB that supports DDR2 ?

I'm not a gamer but I do ALOT of multi-tasking and surfing.

Would DDR2 really help my application ?
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

Well, it depends. DDR is pretty much 100% phased out. Any new release mother uses ddr2 ram. It is a little better at overclocking. As time has brought it along, yes it is better. (cheaper too)

Even though it runs at 800mhz or 667mhz versus 400. The timings on ddr2 are a lot looser, and they can't handle as many volts. So it isn't an insane performance boost like you may have thought.

But from the looks of it you don't like to upgrading all the time. , so I think you could go with a AM2 board, a x2 cpu and some ddr2 667mhz ram. You can get 2 gigs for under $60
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

Plus DDR ram is a little more expensive, compared to DDR2, because of the limited availability. DDR2 are at their record lows, in terms of pricing.

DDR2 also requires less voltage to run, than DDR.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

DDR2 gets way better benchmarking results but as you said you're not a gamer then again its best to have the latesst hardware despite DDR3 has arrived
Nick is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

Personally, I'd sell the DDR and upgrade to DDR2 while prices so low.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

not much ppl will buy a athlon xp now a days...
darksideleader is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

no but you can get a few dollars for it and put it towards the next build.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 04:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

i bought a 1GB ddr400 module bout 1.5 years ago for $110 AUD. i got ripped off.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 09:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: liverpool
Posts: 20
Send a message via MSN to GC_Vulcan
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

so does this mean that an 4Gb Corsair Memory DDR 1066 is not good??
GC_Vulcan is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 09:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Is DDR2 that much better than DDR ?

no. i dont understand where that came from. ddr2 is still great. obviously ddr3 due to the high speeds is good aswell but i would not consider upgrading till the timings get to that of ddr2
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
does any 200pin ddr2... fastrandstrongr New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-03-2007 11:47 AM
FS: 2 Kits of DDR2 Memory aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-11-2007 09:01 PM
R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea? drewjustforyou Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-01-2007 06:12 AM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.