Ddr2/ddr S939/am2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2006, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Default Ddr2/ddr S939/am2

Ok, I'm building a new cpu but non of the S939 mobos seem to support DDR2 ram. Is this even a BAD thing? I've been reading but can't get a clear description of what the difference is. Same goes for S939 vs. AM2. Is there and winning combo because I'm thinking of just getting a DFI lanparty mobo that's S939 and going with PC2-800 DDR ram..... any help?
__________________

Blolodyfinger is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

939 doesn't support DDR2.

AM2 does. I suggest getting the DFI nforce5 series Am2 mobo with DDR2 ram
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I'm building my cpu on ncix.com and they don't have that one unless you can come up with a better place to buy a computer in canada I'm kinda stuck with them...
Blolodyfinger is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

You mean you are choosing your parts that you will use to build your own computer right? Try ebay and tigerdirect.com
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Default

heh...... no.......... actually I need a place that'll build it for me... please don't try and convince me that I'd be able to build it either. I don't have the time or the patience.
Blolodyfinger is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blolodyfinger
heh...... no.......... actually I need a place that'll build it for me... please don't try and convince me that I'd be able to build it either. I don't have the time or the patience.
Well that right there just severly limited your options, and you're going to have to live with it. If you was to use ddr2, you need to go with AM2, no way to get around it.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k here is the deal, AM2 motherboards support DDR2, s939 do not support DDR2, only ddr, but they have made Am2s for s939 mobos, just without the ddr2 option. just hte cpu.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for all the help people! Just one thing though, no one really answered which one is better!! Is DDR2 really that big an advantage over DDR and is S939 really better than AM2? And is the DDR2/AM2 combo a S939/DDR killer?
Blolodyfinger is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

try not to think of everything in such absolute terms. not everything has to be better or worse. in this case i would say DDR2/AM2 and DDR/s939 are parellel. they offer virtually the same performance. in my humble opinion though for the moment s939 is better due to the lower prices and proven hardware. AM2 is on shaky ground with no what i would say are great motherboards and more than a few glitches in it's memory controller. however that being said, AM2 is probably a better option as it makes for easy future upgradeability
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 38
Default

heh, thanks! I think I'll just stick with the S939/DDR combo if I don't end up going to conroe. I usually don't really upgrade all too often, I just sell and buy a whole new pc
__________________

Blolodyfinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.