Ddr2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Ddr2

I'm sure you all have noticed how cheap DDR2 ram is by know, and I have every intention to order 2 gbs when I build my socket M2 system. But I was thinking, when it is released and all the AMD guys start buying it, do you think its price will go up? I was considering buying the 2gbs now because I think it will. What do you think?
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I doubt it. Technology only goes up in price when rarity becomes a player. When AMD begins to use it in its platforms, you're only going to see more and more DDR2 being purchased. You may as well wait and potentially save 59 cents on shipping when you buy ALL of your stuff from newegg.

Socket AM2 isn't going to be all it's cracked up to be... Unless they go insanely crazy with how fast they get the processors moving

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Its not about the performance to me, its about upgradeability. I am going from an agp, ddr, socket 939 mobo, to a pci-e, ddr2, socket m2 mobo, which is going to be bleeding edge in a way. That will be VERY upgrade friendly.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

The new AM2s are gonna kick *** man. Im sure AMD wont screw up their DDR2 architecture like Intel did and actualy make something of it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I seriously doubt DDR2 prices will go up, but yeah, like you said, there are some very nice DDR2 sets out there for pretty cheap now.

Man, I can't wait until Conroe and the AM2 socket chips come out. Shoot, with Yonah doing a 23sec PI time at 2.7GHz, we should see some crazy **** coming our way
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.