DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Just bought the EvGA 780i mobo and a pair of the crucial 1gb sticks of DDR2 800. I now realize that the board can support up to DDR2 1200 and was wondering if it really makes that much of a difference in game playing, etc.
__________________

masteroc is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

not noticeable amount...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

It will make a difference if you have an uber overclock.
If for example you push a Q6600 Past 3.6 Ghz, the DDR2 1200 will be slightly more stable, only because it was designed to run at 1.2 Ghz while DDR2 800 is only designed for 800 Mhz. In the end most processors are not pushed that far past the allowed front side bus for whatever motherboard your using. This is of course unless your using Phase change or something more extreme.

DDR2 800 is more than enough even for my 3.7 Ghz overclock..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

thay always have 6-6-6 timings as well
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
thay always have 6-6-6 timings as well
But you can easily change those dependant upon your current clock.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

i think its difficult to run it at high speeds with lower timings
therefore why would you get that over ballistix DDR2 800 which can do 1025mhz with 4-4-4
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Thanks guys, i was really kicking myself for not getting that DDR2 1200 memory, but i doubt ill go over 3.6 with my overclock (i was planning on stopping around 3.2).
masteroc is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteroc View Post
(i was planning on stopping around 3.2).
Why exactly?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Just because I like to play it safe =p...I might go over that, but im just saying I wasnt really expecting more
masteroc is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 10:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteroc View Post
Just because I like to play it safe =p...I might go over that, but im just saying I wasnt really expecting more

Play it safe?
Bahhh
CPU-Z Validator Database
^^This is me playing it safe.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot DDR2 800mhz. $29 lancec2c30 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 11-23-2007 05:27 PM
2GB DDR2 800 PC6400 CL 4-4-4-12 Patriot Extreme RAM $29.99 AMIR 11/2 ONLY @ CLUBIT krazyq Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 11-02-2007 03:28 PM
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
does any 200pin ddr2... fastrandstrongr New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-03-2007 11:47 AM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.