DDR2 800 or 1066? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 10:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Looks like its more a question of brand than speed. I had been looking at the Corsair dual channel TwinX memory, but now I'll have to reconsider (as nobody seems to be hooting about Corsair).

Thanks to all!
__________________

AceWriter is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

i hoot all day about corsair xms2c4.
i'm tellin ya, they will overclock just as good if not better than HZ (i have both) and they currently cost less...as a matter of fact, after the MIR (corsair will honor their MIR) they cost FIFTY bucks less, thats 80 dollars for 2gb. dang.
i'm tellin ya, corsair makes good ram..regardless of what you hear from people who dont have it.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

My XMS2 C5s, won't overclock one bit, beyond 800MHz. But I believe you nagasama, that the C4s, are way better.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
My XMS2 C5s, won't overclock one bit, beyond 800MHz. But I believe you nagasama, that the C4s, are way better.
yeah, could be luck of the draw, too ya know? sometimes you get a lemon.
but i have never had any problem running my xms2 at 1050 or so, and have run them even higher.
i can hardly make my lemon lol HZ boot past 950. but i can run it at 3-3-3-9 1T under about 730, and that is mucho rapido.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama
yeah, could be luck of the draw, too ya know? sometimes you get a lemon.
but i have never had any problem running my xms2 at 1050 or so, and have run them even higher.
i can hardly make my lemon lol HZ boot past 950. but i can run it at 3-3-3-9 1T under about 730, and that is mucho rapido.
Is that better than running it at 1200/5-5-5-12-2T?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

depends. not in super pi...it likes raw speed, latency not so important. . when i run benches i usually go for mhz vs latency. in everyday use i run low latency, plus the command rate is 1T, and that definitely makes a BIG difference. i like it because it will do it undervolted. less heat the better...my sli puts out enough heat.
real life applications, they would be pretty close speed-wise. theres some formula, but i cant remember what it is.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

what would be better for gaming?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

i really dont notice a difference when gaming. if you are using an amd machine, im going to say that low latency will almost always be better than high speed.
intel, i dunno....seems like speed is more important to them (from what i read...i dont let intel in my house lol).
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

notice my sig i will not be going AMD any time soon...
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

fine, be that way lol one less person i have to teach to overclock, heh. i guess you would want speed then. intel brethren help me out here.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fs 1gb Ocz Ddr2 800 Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 09-12-2007 06:28 PM
FS: 2 Kits of DDR2 Memory aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-11-2007 09:01 PM
R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea? drewjustforyou Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-01-2007 06:12 AM
DDR and DDR2 Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-30-2007 01:12 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.