DDR2 5300? Too slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Hi,
im thinking of buying a 8800GTS 320mb Fatal1ty edition, but im worried my actual Ram will bottleneck it in games, is PC2-5300 too slow or? and im not sure if my motherboard can take faster ram if that is needed, my motherboard is a Intel 965LT chipset it says supports 533/800 but yeah i dunno?

Anyway will that ram bottle neck it? im using 2x 1gb Corsair PC2-5300 DDR2 with a e6600 cpu.
__________________

__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

it all depends on if you are overclocked or not...ram speed itself doesn't matter since C2D's use only DDR2-533 to run. If you overclock the CPU though to keep up with the FSB of the CPU then you need faster ram.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
it all depends on if you are overclocked or not...ram speed itself doesn't matter since C2D's use only DDR2-533 to run. If you overclock the CPU though to keep up with the FSB of the CPU then you need faster ram.
In CPU-Z my ram says 333MHz? Is it too slow now lol?



Oh and by the way, i don't plan on OC'ing my CPU for a while.

Intel Core2Duo e6600
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS
ram in above screenshot
Motherboard Intel Desktop Board DP965LT
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 08:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

No, thats what it should run at. DDR2-667 is fast enough.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 08:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
No, thats what it should run at. DDR2-667 is fast enough.
okay, cheers
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

I would set your FSB to 333mhz. Your e6600 will jump to 2997mhz and you shouldn't have to change any voltages at all.

Aside from the benefits of the mild overclock (a c2d @ 3ghz is very fast), this will allow you to run your memory at a 1:1 ratio with the FSB...something that Core 2 Duos just love.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 09:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I would set your FSB to 333mhz. Your e6600 will jump to 2997mhz and you shouldn't have to change any voltages at all.

Aside from the benefits of the mild overclock (a c2d @ 3ghz is very fast), this will allow you to run your memory at a 1:1 ratio with the FSB...something that Core 2 Duos just love.
im a utter newbie to overclocking (OC graphics card cause its moving a slider up and down :P) but i read the guide on some site about FSB etc when CPU overclocking and are you suggesting i change the CPU fsb to 333mhz with the same multiplier? and will i have to change any ram settings?
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 09:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
im a utter newbie to overclocking (OC graphics card cause its moving a slider up and down :P) but i read the guide on some site about FSB etc when CPU overclocking and are you suggesting i change the CPU fsb to 333mhz with the same multiplier? and will i have to change any ram settings?
Default FSB is 266 mhz, 333mhz is such a mild overclock that voltages and temperatures won't be an issue.

All you need to do is set the CPU fsb to 333mhz (yes keept he same 9x multiplier), and then go to the ram settings and make sure it says either 1:1 or 667mhz.

This will bump your e6600 from 2400 to 2997mhz...easiest overclock in the world.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Default FSB is 266 mhz, 333mhz is such a mild overclock that voltages and temperatures won't be an issue.

All you need to do is set the CPU fsb to 333mhz (yes keept he same 9x multiplier), and then go to the ram settings and make sure it says either 1:1 or 667mhz.

This will bump your e6600 from 2400 to 2997mhz...easiest overclock in the world.
Im on stock cooling, that ok?
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: DDR2 5300? Too slow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
Im on stock cooling, that ok?
3.0 ghz on stock cooling should be just fine.

Monitor your temps to be safe of course...
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
does any 200pin ddr2... fastrandstrongr New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-03-2007 11:47 AM
Why is IE 7 so slow? How to fix IE7? Speed it Up Larry Internet Software and Browsers 24 06-06-2007 02:19 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM
Which RAM would you choose..? 2gb... help a newb!! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-14-2007 06:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.