Ddr2 1200 Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2008, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Ddr2 1200 Ram

How come this RAM is nearly impossible to find?

I just got a new Biostar I45, I have 4 gigs of DDR2 800 ram right now, but the new board supports up to 1200. I was gonna maybe upgrade cuz i thought it would give me more flexibility and better OC capability with my Q6600.

But looking around, it's nearly impossible to find 1200. I found a bunch at 1066, is this just as good? Why don't people use the 1200? Is it cuz the new DDR3 is out now?
__________________

Squirtis is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

transcend axeram 1200 kit 5-5-5-15 2.2v. Probably the best set your going to find w/ timings and voltage. Team group also carries pc 9600. Kingston hyperx but it uses 2.3v
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

1066 oc to 1200. not exactly problem solved, but a solution.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

i have some crucial ballistix at home. DDR2 800MHz. How do i know if i should be able to OC those to 1066?

I don't wanna break anything. I've OCed my CPU on my 680i, but i've never touched the RAM, do i have to increase voltages the same? Is it pretty dangerous to OC the RAM?

This should maybe go in the OC forum :x
Squirtis is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

don't go over 2.2v
I like putting active cooling on my ram regardless of voltage. For timings put 5-5-5-15 2.1v 1066 and memtest it. If it fails try 2.2v. Then you can try tighter timings later
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

yea i've never messed with timings... how do i do a memtest? the one on the vista disc? or is there a program i can run in windows?
Squirtis is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1200 (PC2 9600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

there ya go
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

lol 299? Are you nuts?


edit: Here you go

http://majorgeeks.com/downloadget.ph...03f3754e187334
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

yea not only that, but they're out of stock. they're out of stock of all their DDR2 1200 ram. and i would never pay that much for ram.
Squirtis is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Ddr2 1200 Ram

look above your post for memtest link

these kits are known to hit 1200 very often
Confirmed micron D9
Transcend aXeRam 2 GB ( 2 x 1 GB )

Good place to look for memory
MemoryC.com - computer memory laptop memory and flash memory supplier
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
RAM: Bigger or Faster? NZcomputergeek New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-29-2008 06:30 PM
RAM Question Nazgul New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-27-2008 11:26 PM
Kingston RAM wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 33 03-26-2008 01:31 AM
2GB DDR2 800 PC6400 CL 4-4-4-12 Patriot Extreme RAM $29.99 AMIR 11/2 ONLY @ CLUBIT krazyq Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 11-02-2007 03:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.