Ddr2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
j3wcl@w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Default Ddr2

yo i have a small question i have a Asus a8r mvp motherboard sck 939 and i have 2gb of DDR400 i was wondering if when the time comes to upgrade to vista i will be able to put DDR 2 into my motherboard cos i am not compleately sure i have read a few conflicting reports.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake armour LCS Watercooled
Asus P5N32-SLI Mobo
Intel Core2 quad Extreme Q6600 OC'd to (4x3.00 )
Ati Powercolour Hd 4870 1048mb
4GB OCZ DDR2 800 MHZ
X3 Western Digital raptor's 80gb 10,000 Rpm
Enermax 1000W Galaxy
Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Logitech G9 lazer mouse
Windows Vista ultimate 64 bit
j3wcl@w is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

nope, as far as I know, 939 doesnt support DDR2. Either way, the A8R-MVP doesnt support it. DDR uses 184 pins, DDR2 uses 200 pins or something. but its not the same.

sorry.
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

nope u cant. s939 is meant for the s939 amds that use ddr, although u can use AM2s on a s939 (just make sure its the right type) but not DDR2.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
nope, as far as I know, 939 doesnt support DDR2. Either way, the A8R-MVP doesnt support it. DDR uses 184 pins, DDR2 uses 200 pins or something. but its not the same.

sorry.
correct, there is no DDR2 support in the s939 memory controller. trust me, you're not missing out
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

there is not much difference between DDR2 and DDR, the only difference that may be benficial is saving 10-30 dollars, DDR2 is cheaper than DDR.
john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.