D.E.L.L (The good and the bad) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Best Brand?
Asus 4 16.00%
HP 1 4.00%
Toshiba 9 36.00%
IBM 2 8.00%
LG 0 0%
Benq 0 0%
Fujitsu 1 4.00%
Sony 3 12.00%
Samsung 0 0%
Apple 3 12.00%
Dell 2 8.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 11:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
thats probably because most ppl that own dells know nothing about computers.
thats why they get tricked into buying a dell
__________________

__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

I've had an hp laptop and I think there decent just dont have a long battery life (or mine didnt ) about 3 hrs on a game and about 6 just setting there.
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if your cousin is a total noob at computers, then a dell is great, because they're pretty user friendly.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 05:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
if your cousin is a total noob at computers, then a dell is great, because they're pretty user friendly.
What makes them user friendly?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 05:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
What makes them user friendly?
I second that
__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 05:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

from what i've heard, Dell's LCD monitors are pretty good.

and their desktop pcs are SLOW LIKE SH*T even if the proc and ram are high end because they install a load of SH*T into your computer and they all startup at the windows boot by default

thats why people often reinstall windows before they use their dell desktops.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I checked out Monarch and they are really expensive. The upgrade option for 2 Asus 7900GTX's wa $1219! Yikes. I can build a whole system with 2 7900gt's for less than the cost of the 2 GTX's. Sheesh!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

acer.....dont bother with dell.....im no fan boy but to me acer is really good... we use them at work and my friend has one at home...just put a pci-e graphic card in it and away you go...

they also pretty good with there aspire series laptops 2...i seen u mentioned above that you wanted to get a laptop
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

well... he got a dell and doesnt have a decent graphics card... he thought it wouldnt matter....

I need a good graphics card for around or less than $100, i know thats cheap but... he is cheap

I want to get a labtop around $1000
(srry if i already mentioned the price)
I really dont want a gaming labtop, cause i dont like using that for my games, im happy with my psp and handheld...
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:44 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Well, what kind of motherboard is it. PCI E or Agp?

Oh and, dell LCDs are good. For the lower end, IE: $600 PCs for school and such, they are good because they come with decent hardware and all the software.
__________________

ferris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.