cyberpowerpc computer a good deal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default cyberpowerpc computer a good deal?

hey guys i'm new to this forum and was hoping i can get expert advice on a new system i'm planning on buying to replace my 1.4 athlon with 768mb ram and 60gb hd. instead of building a computer on my own (more like with a friend who can help me) i found, what seems to be, a ridiculous deal from cyberpowerpc.com:

CASE: CyberPower X-Titan Tower 420Watt Case with 8 Open Bays & Side Window (BLACK COLOR)
CPU: (Sckt775)Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E6400 CPU @ 2.13GHz 1066FSB 2x1MB L2 Cache EM64T
MOTHERBOARD: (Quad-Core Supports) Asus P5W-DH I975X CrossFire Chipset LGA775 Supports Core 2 Duo CPU FSB1066 DDR2/800 Mainboard w/GbLAN, USB2.0, IEEE1394, &7.1Audio
MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)1GB (2x512MB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Memory w/ Heat Spreader)
VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon X1950 Pro PCI-E x16 256MB VIDEO CARD
VIDEO CARD 2: NONE
LCD Monitor: NONE
HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (320GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
Data Hard Drive: NONE
Optical Drive: PIONEER DVR-111 DUAL FORMAT 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER (BLACK COLOR)
Optical Drive 2: SONY 16X DVD-ROM (BLACK COLOR)
SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO

also comes with:
-windows xp pro (with a free upgrade to vista business)
-enermax EG565P (important: will this be enough power and quiet?)
-PS2 microsoft multimedia keyboard
-PS2 microsoft intellimouse optical explorer 4.0A
-3 year warranty (which is standard for all their systems)

all for $1293.. which is $293 more than i originally wanted to spend on a new system.. plus i'll probably have to pay $65 for shipping since it's not one of the "free shipping" models.. so the total would be more like $1358.

i got this price by customizing a Cyberpower SLI GT.. funny thing is that when i customized other versions with the same specs i'd get a much higher price.

here is the link if u'd like to check what other options you feel i should' get instead of the ones i posted above: http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/infsligtc2d.asp?v=d

so what do you guys think?


***edit: the memory i'm getting with it is a 1GB (2x512MB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Memory w/ Heat Spreader) not "Value Select"
__________________

sanity8me is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The only way to know is to price everything individually and then do the math. If you are buying products from different venders you need to look at the overall shipping costs, as well. If you do not have the skills to build your own, it looks like a great system although it seems a bit pricey at first glance.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

its a great price for not building yourself... only weak spot is the psu... case psu's are notorious for frying your pc or just dieing. i got mine from cyberpowerpc about 6 mo ago... the techsupport sux fyi
i just built my friend a computer from scratch and wish i had done the same for mine... its not that hard. i did it in an evening. oh well, theres always next time
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

The guys on this board talked my son and I into building our own.

I am very glad we did....it was fun and we learned alot...and the guys on here are a great bunch of guys and they helped with all of our questions.

From now on we will always build. Its really not hard.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
The only way to know is to price everything individually and then do the math. If you are buying products from different venders you need to look at the overall shipping costs, as well. If you do not have the skills to build your own, it looks like a great system although it seems a bit pricey at first glance.
i actually did and it comes out to be more... but idk can anybody prove me wrong? i went by newegg.com prices..

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
its a great price for not building yourself... only weak spot is the psu... case psu's are notorious for frying your pc or just dieing. i got mine from cyberpowerpc about 6 mo ago... the techsupport sux fyi
i just built my friend a computer from scratch and wish i had done the same for mine... its not that hard. i did it in an evening. oh well, theres always next time[/B]
you may have overlooked it in my initial post, but i mentioned that i was getting the enermax EG565P which has 535watt and the sales rep told me to go with enermax if i wanted it to be quiet.. but he also said that for my system i need at least 600watt psu.. which i dont think is correct.. what do u guys think?

Quote:
Originally posted by Whirlwind
The guys on this board talked my son and I into building our own.

I am very glad we did....it was fun and we learned alot...and the guys on here are a great bunch of guys and they helped with all of our questions.

From now on we will always build. Its really not hard.[/B]
see, that was my initial plan, but it just seems like i'd be saving more by getting this system.
sanity8me is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Dont you dare add windows XP into the math of the cash. I dunno anyone who has personally ever bought windows besides me uncle...i'll do the match and see lol. Also you'll have to add 50 or 60 bucks or so for a better PSU. I wouldnt trust 420w with an ATI card. Also a a 420w that comes with a case.

Also if its so much more than you intitally planned why get an e6400? Just go for the E6300...its a waste of 40 bucks IMO and about 95% of the other people on this forum

What is this for? gaming?

The product ratio just seems a bit off in my eyes. You have one of the most expensive mobos lined up with the E6400. I would take it down in order to save money and put it somewhere else. The 1950 PRO is a pretty good choice as well.

see the problem with sites like that is that you offer you no selections. They can make that set-up becuase they get deals from those companies when they only put those up on the line. Thats why theres limited choices in what you can buy. I could build a system just a powerful as that for lets say 1000-1070 with a few different parts.

In the end you will also have a greater sense of pride knowing that you selected every part in your dream PC. On the other hand though if you are not too experienced in components and what runs best with this and that then I guess a site like that would be a better choice. In end though dont fool yourself that it will be cheaper . if you were to take every part and find it piece by piece then yea about the same or a bit cheaper becuase as I stated you only have achoice from about 10 cases while there are hundreds of them on newegg or so. If you looked hard you enough you could find combo deals and components just as good for cheaper.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

about the sales rep telling you that you need a 600w, he is just trying to get more money out of you. That 535w will do fine.

If you have the option to step down to the e6300 I would do it and get 2gb's of ram. Trust me you will thank yourself in a couple months when you have 2gb instead of one.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Dont you dare add windows XP into the math of the cash. I dunno anyone who has personally ever bought windows besides me uncle...i'll do the match and see lol. Also you'll have to add 50 or 60 bucks or so for a better PSU. I wouldnt trust 420w with an ATI card. Also a a 420w that comes with a case.

Also if its so much more than you intitally planned why get an e6400? Just go for the E6300...its a waste of 40 bucks IMO and about 95% of the other people on this forum

What is this for? gaming?

The product ratio just seems a bit off in my eyes. You have one of the most expensive mobos lined up with the E6400. I would take it down in order to save money and put it somewhere else. The 1950 PRO is a pretty good choice as well.

see the problem with sites like that is that you offer you no selections. They can make that set-up becuase they get deals from those companies when they only put those up on the line. Thats why theres limited choices in what you can buy. I could build a system just a powerful as that for lets say 1000-1070 with a few different parts.

In the end you will also have a greater sense of pride knowing that you selected every part in your dream PC. On the other hand though if you are not too experienced in components and what runs best with this and that then I guess a site like that would be a better choice. In end though dont fool yourself that it will be cheaper . if you were to take every part and find it piece by piece then yea about the same or a bit cheaper becuase as I stated you only have achoice from about 10 cases while there are hundreds of them on newegg or so. If you looked hard you enough you could find combo deals and components just as good for cheaper.
really funny that your sayin not to spend the extra $114 on the xp pro cause my friend was just tellin me the same thing.. i guess i wanted to get it cause of the guaranteed free update to vista business...


Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
about the sales rep telling you that you need a 600w, he is just trying to get more money out of you. That 535w will do fine.

If you have the option to step down to the e6300 I would do it and get 2gb's of ram. Trust me you will thank yourself in a couple months when you have 2gb instead of one.[/B]
so u guys think that e6300 would be just as good as the e6400?? i'm surprised... i just never thought that after five years i'd only be going up .46Ghz (1.4athlon to 1.86duo core 2)... i mean yeah there's a HUGE difference, but just yknow i at least wanted to have a >2Ghz pc..

also 2gb of ram is gona cost me a lot more... especially if i get it in Xtreme memory version (+$225).. do just about all of you think that 2gb would be a good idea over a 1gb? and a step down to a e6300? i'm kinda surprised...

also, should i pick a cheaper mobo? if so let me know which one from the site that's offered...
sanity8me is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Each Core is clocked at 1.86ghz. This is a Core 2 DUO. it evenly splits up the tasks between the two CPU's so its kind of like having a 3.7ghz CPU except you cant use both cores on one thing. Regardless, the C2D have lowered their clock cycles to 14 and their stage pipelines to 12. So a 1.86ghz C2D is actully much faster than a 1.8ghz Anthlon. This is basicly the same ratio of an Anthlon 2.2ghz being compared to about a 3.6 Intel P4.

Plus the CPU is built on a smaller die process (65nm) So having 2 cores that each run at 1.86ghz is really much more than it sounds. Also with a decent mobo and that ram you can OC your C2D E6300 to about 2.8-3.0ghz on the stock CPU fan quite easily. Also this isnt like 5 years ago, OC'ing things wont blow up nearly as easy at all. These CPU's were built to run about 3.0 or so ghz so putting your E6300 even at 2.6ghz would be totally stable.

Also honestly the Corsair XMS you selected is basicly regular ram with an upped voltage for tighter timings. When it comes to the price of the XMS your paying for the trusted name and the fact you dont have the tighten the timings yourself.

Also I would say lower the mobo to some sort of P965 mobo. A good one for around 140 is the Gigabyte P965-DS3. The main use of a P5B-Deluxe is not only the features but the ammount of OC ability it has. Its pretty much the best at it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you have to add 225 to get 2gb or is that the total price of 2gb of ram.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.