Current Rig seeking upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Question Current Rig seeking upgrade?

This is a future project, something minor you know? Seeing how quickly my AMD 4000+ dropped in price, i'am thinking of another processor. right now, iam really into multi tasking. kind of like, having a game like Guild Wars open, with media player, chat program, two messengers and a few windows as well as a do***ent.

but, keep in mind, my pc is going past my expectations but, i'd like to stay current. does anyone have a suggestion? i have the Asus SLI A8N motherboard, i read at the site that there are a plethora of processors to choose from. any that out-perform mine or would go past my current needs?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Perhaps another gig of RAM, a 4400+ X2 or higher, and, if you want more gaming performance, a matching 7600GT for SLI?
__________________

__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Hm, the corsair ram i got isn't dual channel, i heard or, read that it's better performance at dual channel, i was looking for a way around the SLi, but i will try it. perhaps an upgrade from the 7600? but i will definately look into the 4400 that seems pretty choice amongst peeps here.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

I'm pretty sure if you pop in a matching stick of that same Corsair RAM, it'll run dual-channel.

And I'd suggest waiting for DirectX 10 cards to come out before you upgrade that graphics card to go for more high end.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Don't bother going sli unless you have a big monitor (>21"). Sli is better if you game at high res with a big monitor. Just get a better card, like 7900gt if you don't wanna wait for a DX10 card.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.