Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2008, 10:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Exclamation Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

Well, I got it working and imaged... seems it wouldn't boot -at all- without hanging until I disabled Acronis startups in safemode... after that though, it turns out the conflict was with Avast! Antivirus and/or ZoneAlarm firewall. after uninstalling both, Acronis installed without a hitch and I was able to image.

As of right now, though, I can't boot after restoring the image... leading up to this was a bit of a hassle:

My original 500GB array looked something like this:
[__C:_(SYSTEM)__|______________E:_(DATA)___________ _]

I used ycopy to copy the E: partition directly onto the new 1.5TB HDD.
Then I used Acronis True Image Home to make an Image of the C: partition and MBR.
This seems to have been my first mistake, because excluding E: from the image meant I couldn't restore the entire disk as one operation.

After Imaging it and installing XP onto an IDE HDD (temporarily) along with the necessary RAID and SATA drivers and Partition Magic, I cleared and rebuilt the array and attempted to restore the image onto it. Here begins to the point of no-return, where anything before this point can't be un-done.

I used Acronis first to restore the C: drive and MBR separately, using the original (default) setting of a Logical Partition for C:, then expanding the 100GB C: partition to 250GB in the process, and leaving the rest of the 1TB array unpartitioned... then I used Partition Magic to add a 500GB partition for expendable data and a 100GB partition for data to be backed up, while leaving 100GB unpartitioned to install Vista X64 onto later. In the end it looked like this:
[__C:_(SYSTEM)__|UNALLOC|G:_(DATA)|_______E:_(DATA) _______]

I went into the BIOS and set it to boot to the array again, and I get just a black screen with a blinking cursor.

I booted back into XP and deleted the two Data partitions I had made in PartitionMagic and tried it again, same result.

I booted from the XP install disk and loaded the RAID drivers from a floppy, then went into the recovery console to run FIXMBR, same result.

Now I seem to be stuck... I can't boot to the restored C: drive.

I DO NOT WANT to re-install Windows on that drive, since I have 99 gigs of custom installed and configured programs which would need upwards of 100 hours of tweaking to get them all back to the way they were when I started.

Is there something I'm doing wrong, or another way I can fix this, so I don't have to start all over again from the beginning?
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

This should fix you right up.

MBR corrupt or volume unbootable on RAID after restoring with Acronis True Image
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

just for a quick note on PSU's the 620HX would be fine.

I ran my gx2 on the 520, AND I ran my new 4870 X2 on the 520hx, before the 750 came in.

I got the 750, because it was cheaper than another 520 LOL.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
just for a quick note on PSU's the 620HX would be fine.

I ran my gx2 on the 520, AND I ran my new 4870 X2 on the 520hx, before the 750 came in.

I got the 750, because it was cheaper than another 520 LOL.

Is overclocking and ramping the voltage on the processor going to have a significant effect on the power supply requirements?

also, got it to boot again, so I'm back on track, thanks.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 02:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

not a 620hx, that thing will be fine and handle any o/c you throw at it.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

well, with a particularily bad stroke of luck, I got a CMOS checksum error after unplugging the IDE HDD from the mainboard, and had to reset the BIOS.

Resetting the BIOS, apparently, DISSOLVED my RAID, making my computer unbootable again.

Additionally, the BIOS ceased to recognize the RAID capability, leaving me without the ability to rebuild and restore it.

less than an hour from packing it up and going home finished, and only a few hours until I don't have a choice and have to go home unfinished without the facilities to work on it, I'm at square 0.

PANIC MODE ENGAGE.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

I hate RAID, I only use it in server environments. The redundancy and system support simply is not in place for consumer pc's. I recommend you just have a second hard drive where you back stuff up manually from now on.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 12:02 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Cunjo's Official Savage Upgrade Thread (opinions wanted)

Technically, that's what I've just done... I converted my RAID10 (striping/mirroring) to RAID0 (striping) to get twice the storage space and slightly better speed, and then installed a backup drive to replace the mirroring with nightly backups for data safety.

Good news is I got my BIOS working again, and the array was still there, just invisible... so I'm back on track.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Overclocking Thread. Ste Overclocking and Modding 429 02-24-2010 05:03 PM
Official Intel Overclocking thread Ste Overclocking and Modding 459 01-26-2010 07:49 AM
** Official ATI RV700 and RV770 Thread ** gurusan Overclocking and Modding 45 07-17-2008 12:22 AM
The Official What Was Your First Thread Thread TheEnd187 Off Topic Discussion 30 01-29-2008 11:40 PM
Post 3Dmark06 scores in the official thread Trotter Overclocking and Modding 0 11-09-2007 05:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.