CUDA Question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2008, 02:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default CUDA Question.

With all those Apps that make use of CUDA, including Folding at Home, that Video Encoder software etc etc, can it make use of both GPU's if i use Sli??

So can i have two GPU Folding clients, can i have the power of two 280GTX's encoding HD video?

Just wondering so i can make a better choice as to what video card configuration i want.

Thanks.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 02:10 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: CUDA Question.

Yes you can use both cards to fold with the CUDA drivers.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 03:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: CUDA Question.

Thanks cvb724. How about other apps (not opening multiple clients but the program making use of multiple cards), or is it app specific?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 05:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: CUDA Question.

i would say it would be application specific.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: CUDA Question.

Ok thanks Baron.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: CUDA Question.

No, CUDA does not run in SLI mode.

The way we fold with multiple cards is out of SLI mode, and by creating multiple shortcuts, its basically a work around since the F@H client doesn't not support multiple cards either (you cant install two gpu clients and run them off separate cards, because the client defaults to gpu0, the primary windows gpu).

For CUDA to recognize that there is more than one gpu installed, SLI must be diasabled (since SLI treats two gpu's as one). This may change down the road, but as of now SLI is not supported.


The only guys here who run dual gpu systems for folding would be me and prvrt, so come to us if you need any help.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: CUDA Question.

I really hope that CUDA takes off and ATI gets into as well. Might really change the way we think about GPU's generally being for games only.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: CUDA Question.

ATI already runs off CAL, only Nvidia cards are capable of running CUDA.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 01:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: CUDA Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
ATI already runs off CAL, only Nvidia cards are capable of running CUDA.
Yeah but there was an article about this guy who got a version of Cuda or made Cuda instructions work on an ATI card, Nvidia employed him i think and they are working together.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 01:48 AM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: CUDA Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
No, CUDA does not run in SLI mode.

The way we fold with multiple cards is out of SLI mode, and by creating multiple shortcuts, its basically a work around since the F@H client doesn't not support multiple cards either (you cant install two gpu clients and run them off separate cards, because the client defaults to gpu0, the primary windows gpu).

For CUDA to recognize that there is more than one gpu installed, SLI must be diasabled (since SLI treats two gpu's as one). This may change down the road, but as of now SLI is not supported.


The only guys here who run dual gpu systems for folding would be me and prvrt, so come to us if you need any help.
That's basically what I meant. You can run two cards but they won't run in SLI.

You have a source for the article zed?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebate question and Motherboard question. Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-12-2008 12:06 AM
speedfan question jonny_uk Overclocking and Modding 2 07-24-2008 06:33 PM
router/firewall question Celticsfan Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 05-01-2008 04:27 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.