Crysis Performance question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2007, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Crysis Performance question

So heres the IGN Crysis review ( which praises crysis a lot ) IGN: Crysis Review

heres the Australian Crysis IGN review ( which is the exact opposite and really bags on crysis ) IGN: Crysis Review

whats I find to be such an anomaly is how they claim their test machine, a Core 2 Duo processor overclocked to 3.3GHz, 2GB of DDRII-800 memory, a GeForce 8800GTX and 680i SLI motherboard BARELY gets 25 FPS at MEDIUM settings at 1680 x 1050 with no anti-aliasing.

Now...the anomaly...I have a quad core processor OCed to 3.0 ghz, 2 gigs of ddr2 memory, and a single 8800 gtx and average about 37ish FPS on HIGH settings at the same resolution as them and no anti-aliasing....does something not make sense?

I'm guessing the problem that they didn't discover has to do with they were running Vista and DX 10. Anyone care to share their vista DX 10 experiences? Is it really that bad?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

I have a GTX, qx6700 @3.3, 2gb ddr2 oc to 1100 mhz, and a 680i and i get around 15 fps running everything on DX10 very high no aa @ 1680x1050
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

sounds about right....you guys and your Quad-Cores. Heh My outdated E6300 @ 3.56ghz will still give you a run for your money in games!

Back to the topic...yes Crysis is a crazy game. I have a copy of it in my game case and it shall stay there for a year or so until i have a card that i can play the game with better eye candy :P
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
I have a GTX, qx6700 @3.3, 2gb ddr2 oc to 1100 mhz, and a 680i and i get around 15 fps running everything on DX10 very high no aa @ 1680x1050
why would u even play crysis at very high with an unplayable 15 fps...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

Yes, i think they would have had it running in dx10 to get that low fps. But still - it does default to dx10 in vista with a dx10 card...so that is understandable.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 07:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

i run it in dx10 at 1680 by 1050 on very high and i get bout 25 fps

my q6600 is at 3.6, ram at 1100 and gtx at 650 and 100
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

Sounds about right, if i use the very high hack in dx9 i get around 18 FPS on sli GT cards. I get 30-40 using just the highest settings in d9x (high) @ 1920x1200, and to be honest, i cant see the difference between the high settings and the very high hack.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

will it run ok on a athlon X2 3800+ and an 8600GT with 2GBs RAM?
Nick is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

The 15-20% performance decrease that Vista/DX10 has is the last thing you need to be able to run Crysis, as the game already runs like crap on the best of machines
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Crysis Performance question

It has been told before the Very High setting is not worth it right now, High Setting will do just fine.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's Crysis? Question... smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 11 11-22-2007 11:59 AM
laggy crysis performance jpfan18 PC Gaming 10 11-16-2007 10:11 PM
Crysis Demo Performance Osiris PC Gaming 20 11-13-2007 01:34 PM
Upgrade for Crysis Question vdubnthehouse New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-28-2007 10:09 PM
nvidia 7600 gs performance question Izzjess Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-12-2007 01:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.