Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

Quote:

Every sane person is wondering how all this is going to run on their system. We asked Cevat Yerli, Crytek CEO, what gamers with a limited budget should buy to make sure they can play Crysis well, and his first answer was two gigs of RAM. The single gig most of us have is going to struggle with environments of this size, and with this much smashable stuff to keep track of. Next on the shopping list is, predictably, a GeForce 8800 - but the GTS model in that range is fairly affordable, and not a huge step down from the GTX. The surprising part is that Cevat says a Core 2 Duo E6600 processor is enough to run Crysis on Ultra High settings with that setup. That chip is likely to undergo another price drop before Crysis comes out, too, so donít rush.

If you donít have any of these things and you need a new motherboard too, youíre still looking at a hefty layout, but to play at max settings this seems surprisingly reasonable to us. Well, not quite max settings. Crysis actually has graphical features built in that no PC available this year will be able to make use of. Cevat estimates itíll be 18 months after release before technology catches up with his game. They put these features in partly to keep Crysis current after release - they say itíll be the best-looking game for the next three years - but also, letís face it, because theyíre enormous graphics geeks.
Games Radar - XBOX 360 previews - Crysis - Hit below the fan belt
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

"
Senior Game Designer Bernd Diemer discovered that he could grab a fallen tree and hold it in front of him to become completely invisible to the AI. This tactic is frowned upon in the real military as unsporting, so it had to be tactfully explained to the AI that a walking tree is deeply suspicious.
"

Lol...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

^ That reminds me, of those cartoons that take a cardboard bush and walk behind it, to disguise themselves.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

Most people got caught up in wondering what specs would need to play it on variable settings.

But has anyone stoped and wondered how big the game actually is?
Farcry took 5 CD's to install and is around 3 GB on the HD. So this game has to be between 5 and 8 GB's...
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

crysis is going to be epic.. not for its story but for its graphics and gameplay.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

lol....I can see people with this game, not actually playing the game....but playing around the level shooting trees in halves, shooting their name in the dirt, picking up sticks and the chickens, appreciating the scenery, one...two...buckle my shoe, etc...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

I can hardly contain my excitement...

I know Ill be running around with cheats on.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
"
Senior Game Designer Bernd Diemer discovered that he could grab a fallen tree and hold it in front of him to become completely invisible to the AI. This tactic is frowned upon in the real military as unsporting, so it had to be tactfully explained to the AI that a walking tree is deeply suspicious.
"

Lol...
lmao, that's freaking hilarious! Just imagining that is making me laugh :-D The wording definitely helps it be even funnier

This game certainly is going to be interesting.... anyone want to guess how many patches there are going to be in the first few months?
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

man i cant wait to play crysis its goin to be sick. i love eye candy
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Most people got caught up in wondering what specs would need to play it on variable settings.

But has anyone stoped and wondered how big the game actually is?
Farcry took 5 CD's to install and is around 3 GB on the HD. So this game has to be between 5 and 8 GB's...
I don't think space is really a concern for the developers...if you've got a e6600 and a 8800 card then 10gb of space shouldn't be a concern.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.