Crysis and the 226bw - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 11:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

So the beta is out huh, I was gona download it from phazedll.com but I wasn't sure. I'll have to check it out tonight. Hopefully see how good it runs on me mid ranged system.
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
you get 40-60? I get solid 60 unless I get blown up (doesn't matter then) in Quake 4, same card, mines clocked at 600/900 though, don't forget that theres a fps cap default so you might actually be able to get higher :P
Well you're talking about Quake 4. In Quake 4 I'm at the 60fps constantly, thanks to that **** cap.

I was talking about Quake Wars Demo, for the new Quake Wars game, I take it you havent heard of it?
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-25-2007, 03:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Well you're talking about Quake 4. In Quake 4 I'm at the 60fps constantly, thanks to that **** cap.

I was talking about Quake Wars Demo, for the new Quake Wars game, I take it you havent heard of it?
I cant even launch the demo...

Fatal Error: Sys_DefaultUserPath: SHGetFolderPath on CSIDL_PERSONAL failed

ETQW 1.0.10745.32242 win-x86 Sep 5 2007 19:07:12
2399 MHz Intel CPU with MMX & SSE & SSE2 & SSE3
2 logical CPUs
2 physical CPUs
HT not available
2048 MB System Memory
320 MB Video Memory
Initializing performance queries
Winsock Initialized
Found interface: {5C1B781A-BBF1-4DB1-8B99-8942201F36D1} NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller - 130.111.241.17/255.255.255.128
Sys_InitNetworking: adding loopback interface
ETQW using MMX & SSE & SSE2 & SSE3 for SIMD processing
enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
enabled Denormals-Are-Zero mode
********************
FATAL ERROR: Sys_DefaultUserPath: SHGetFolderPath on CSIDL_PERSONAL failed
********************
--------------- BSE Shutdown ----------------
---------------------------------------------
Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
...releasing DC
...shutting down QGL
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
Shutting down performance queries
Sys_DefaultUserPath: SHGetFolderPath on CSIDL_PERSONAL failed
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:56 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Anything over 30fps should is great enough for gaming. **** 20 fps is decent but anything lower will you will start noticing it. Like Flight Sim X *shrugs* i only get 30~35 fps with max settings and with anti off! But then again, its flight sim.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 01:02 AM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Anything over 30fps should is great enough for gaming. **** 20 fps is decent but anything lower will you will start noticing it. Like Flight Sim X *shrugs* i only get 30~35 fps with max settings and with anti off! But then again, its flight sim.
I have to disagree...if your playing a First person shooter 40FPS is the bare minimum for good gameplay for me. I prefer to only play with 50+ honestly. In CoD2 i set my settings so I gert at least 65+ because I notice a difference.

30FPS in an RPG is acceptable though.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:41 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
I have to disagree...if your playing a First person shooter 40FPS is the bare minimum for good gameplay for me. I prefer to only play with 50+ honestly. In CoD2 i set my settings so I gert at least 65+ because I notice a difference.

30FPS in an RPG is acceptable though.
Agreed, I need a very high frame rate otherwise it bothers me and I hate it. I would say high 40's would be lowest for me.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:45 AM   #27 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

yea i cant stand 30's, 50+ for me, but i still pwn with 40
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:58 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

30 fps? Ugg I don't think I could look at the screen at 30 fps and not get dizzy. Since most LCD's cap at 75 fps, thats basically the highest everyone see's now days, and I personally thing its still too low. Can't wait till they come out with a cheap 100+ hz LCD, would be so much better for gaming.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:05 AM   #29 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

god i need a new GFX card, i get 8-12 FPS on call of duty maxed out
Nick is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 02:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
30 fps? Ugg I don't think I could look at the screen at 30 fps and not get dizzy. Since most LCD's cap at 75 fps, thats basically the highest everyone see's now days, and I personally thing its still too low. Can't wait till they come out with a cheap 100+ hz LCD, would be so much better for gaming.
Why not just turn off vsync?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.