Crysis and the 226bw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2007, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Crysis and the 226bw

For a game like Crysis, I want to be able to play on maximum settings, this means that I may have to lower the resolution. Do you think If I set it to 1440x900 or 1280x1024 it will be possible to play in letterbox mode (black bars on the top and sides) to create a smaller screen instead of stretching it to fit my 226bw which is 1680x1050? Do games already support this, or is it even possible?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Heh thats a reason I only got a 19inch monitor...at 1440x900 I bet I get the same FPS with my X1950XT as you do with your 8800 at 1680x1050...anyway you should be able to play at 1400x900 without a problem since thye are both 16:10 widescreen but It really won't look as good.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Use the -w suffix on the Target Line in the shortcut to play in Windowed mode, then just set your desktop to black or something heh But otherwise, just play on a lower 16:10 res, it won't look too bad, but it wouldn't look as good as lowering certain settings and playing on 1680x1050
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

I could use the -w thing, it's never worked for me though on halo. How exactly do you do it? I'm curious to see if the game itself can support it...
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

so you think the game wouldnt play well with a E6750 and a 8800GTS? hmmm id have thought it would play fine? not highest settings but certainly if you turn down one or two things?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 08:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

a lot of the vids u see is of lower res. mostly because they are of lower optimization levels but it should run fine with gts and e6750. maybe not maxed out on 1680x1050, but who no's maybe they are legendary at optimizing.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

ive seen screenshots taken from normal people like me and you(the beta) and it didnt look anywhere near as good as the vids you see on IGN/youtube etc, i get better graphics on Battlefield 2142! but then that was only the beta.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

The beta, keep in mind, is beta. Meaning there are flaws to be worked on... not only bugs. Things like graphical optimization and compression will be brought into play on it's final release allowing some people to notch their settings up a bit higher.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

Minimum requirements have been "officially released": Crysis Minimum Requirements Released
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Crysis and the 226bw

is the 9800 pro better than the X550?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.