Cryptographic Coprocessor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Exclamation Cryptographic Coprocessor

Hey guys. I need to buy one of these. Anyone know or have heard of a good one? Something where you can carry out encryption oriented computations in a secure environment. It'll most likely be a PCI card.

IBM's stuff is somewhat on the more expensive side. Looking for something a little bit cheaper.
http://www-03.ibm.com/security/crypt...overview.shtml

Thx.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

For the love of God. I was just talking to this sales woman in Sun for like 10 min, and she had so much trouble finding my card. Well I told her it's a "Cryptographic Coprocessor".. Which I repeated a few times. And after like 10 min of hearing her stumbling all over the place, I find out that she was looking into "Graphic" processors. No wonder I heard her rambling about NVidia something something a few times.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

lol...... nope never ever heard of that .. but i hope you find one ......
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I love the oxymoronic ring to the phrase 'customer service.' It's always an uphill battle...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

You double posted, I'm telling teh mods!

I've never heard of one of those.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.