crucial failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2008, 11:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default crucial failure

one of my sticks of crucial balistix X failed on me i couldnt boot up with it in, the other stick worcks fine i had it at like 850mghz and 2.2v so i wasnt over any bounderries, i had it at 444-12 timings to. im really suprised, oh well atleast i got a life time warranty with crucial on them.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: crucial failure

Sometimes, things happen. Just warranty it.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: crucial failure

life's a b**** and then you die
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: crucial failure

yea i wotn be able to play cod4 for awhile now, i gotta wait for the ram to get back, i dont have my overclock up either so its preaty gay hopefully by the tiem i get my ram back i will be buyign a 3870x2.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: crucial failure

sucks?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: crucial failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
life's a b**** and then you die
I thought it was "life's a ***** and then you marry one" ???
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: crucial failure

you're only unwise or unlucky if you marry "one"...my wife is wonderful
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: crucial failure

Let me guess, she's looking over your shoulder as you were typing that.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: crucial failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
yea i wotn be able to play cod4 for awhile now, i gotta wait for the ram to get back, i dont have my overclock up either so its preaty gay hopefully by the tiem i get my ram back i will be buyign a 3870x2.
i ordered the Sapphire HD 3870 x2 thursday night n now i have to wait until Monday to get it.

CRAZY TAX MAN!! I was charged $33 for tax from newegg, WTF?! That, n shipping, bumped the price to $499.98!!!!

back on topic, sry to hear about ur ram, now im in fear of my ram dieing too . I'm planning on getting 2 x 512mb Crucial Ballistix Tracers in the Summer btw.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: crucial failure

My HZ's just died 2 weeks ago too. I called EVGA and they said that nvidia chipsets have a tendency to kill ram if the voltage is set about 2.1v...WTF!?! I only had them at 2.15v. That doesn't make any sense. The sticks are rated up to 2.2v. They should really fix that issue. I hope thats not the same with my 780i that i am still impatiently waiting for...

Sorry about your sticks man. You should go to like circuit city or something and buy whatever the best pair of ram they have is (it wont be that great) and just put that in your system until you get yours back. They have a 30 day return policy so you can just return them when you get yours. Thats what I did. I'm running some awful PNY DDR2 667 ram but atleast it works and I can still play games.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disk Boot Failure Infinite Microsoft Windows and Software 13 01-28-2008 10:54 PM
RAM comparisons - OCZ and Crucial jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-13-2007 10:53 PM
Any problems with crucial? bum New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-09-2007 11:20 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.