Crucial Ballistix - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default Crucial Ballistix

I've been upgrading my computer recently and I'm about to get an BFG 6800 from my friend. It's going to be much better than my current TI and I've noticed something. With my slow, 512mb of RAM it runs most games on low settings just fine. A few days ago my friend let me test his XFX 6800 and it ram fine on full settings and all that except for the EXTREME loading/paging when just walking around it most any games. I play CSS alot and it's really apparent there. I've decided to get 1gb of ram and I've found (what seems to be) a great deal. These Crucial Ballistix are currently $121 and have timings of 2-2-2-6 which to me seems pretty good. I've been waiting to see if anyone would write a review on Newegg about them so I could see how they are. I can't find any reviews anywhere else about them either. I'm just wondering if there should be any reason that I should not trust these.
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

they look good to me, most people on this forum jus use OCZ, and G.Skill for their systems
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Well to me, these look cheap and good. I just need to find out what I'm asking for Christmas. If these are good, I'll just get these unless I get money or parents decide to be generous =0
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

im jw is that ram going to go into the comp in your sig? if so i think it would be better to jus get another 512mb of value ram and save that money for a new comp? just a thought haha
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Crucial makes very good RAM and their Ballistix PC3200 is one of their most popular sellers. Go over to Crucial.com and on their main screen you can scroll down and there is a tool to find what Ballistix RAM will work with your mobo. Great tool.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

I can't buy another 512 stick of the Kingston because my motherboard is dual channel only and they don't make value ram with the same revision as mine. I've tried it before and it's quite unstable. Yes, this will go in my current config and I know it will work in my pc. Just wondering if there is any rep on this ram for being good or something.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

OCZ and G.Skill are overclockers RAM. Crucial ballistix is great RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Will you be overclocking? If you are, you'll want ram with good timings like 2-2-2-6, but if you're not, i suggest just getting some plain old value ram from OCZ, Corsair, Kingston, G.Skill, and i've heard Crucial is good too.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

No I can't really overclock since this cpu can't handle anything after stock. I'm starting the think it's the motherboard that can't handle the fsb. Heck, I don't know.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Well since you're not overclocking, just average value ram will perform just as well as that ram. Those timings are meant for the overclocker so it'll be useless for you. Value ram is your best bet.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.