CRT on DVI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2007, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default CRT on DVI

I heard from many people that LCD lose visual quality when it is connected to an analog signals (such as VGA)

My question will CRT monitor lose visual quality if you connect it to DVI (digital signal) ?
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
I heard from many people that LCD lose visual quality when it is connected to an analog signals (such as VGA)

My question will CRT monitor lose visual quality if you connect it to DVI (digital signal) ?
how well are your eyes at looking at quality, if you are like the rest of us, VGA will only be slightly worse than DVI. But as rule of thumb, DVI is for LCDs and VGA performs better on CRTs. I assume you mean a DVI-to-VGA converter module, but still the quality change is minuscule.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
I assume you mean a DVI-to-VGA converter module, but still the quality change is minuscule.
Yes I mean DVI-to-VGA converter


So there will be some quality change !!!

I want to get 8600GTS but the problem is that all of them are dual-DVI, they don't have VGA
maroon1 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Hello,

DVI-I is capable of handling both analogue and digital signals. DVI-D can only handle digital signals while DVI-A can only handle analogue signals.

There won't be any quality change. Using it with an analogue monitor (in this case, your CRT), would be just the same as if you were using a VGA cable. You'll only achieve a digital signal if you use DVI in conjunction with a digital display like an LCD TFT (which supports digital signal input).

If you were to use a VGA to DVI converter to connect your CRT monitor to the DVI port on your your graphics card, then the signal will be analogue.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Well, if you look closely at pictures that show the DVI outputs of video cards, you will notice that they use DVI-I. This means that via one output they send out a digital signal as well as an analog. When you use a DVI to VGA adapter, you are actually only taking an existing signal putting it on a different pinout and connector.

There will be no quality difference.

EDIT: I see that Alvin beat me to it by seconds. Meh, we said the same thing anyways
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbatrop1 View Post
Well, if you look closely at pictures that show the DVI outputs of video cards, you will notice that they use DVI-I. This means that via one output they send out a digital signal as well as an analog. When you use a DVI to VGA adapter, you are actually only taking an existing signal putting it on a different pinout and connector.

There will be no quality difference.

EDIT: I see that Alvin beat me to it by seconds. Meh, we said the same thing anyways
Makes it more credible.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: CRT on DVI

Thank you guys
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.