Crossfire Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Crossfire Question

I was just wondering, is it okay to crossfire two different cards? I have heard that it works in most cases (Not sure about all). I have an HD 4670 now, and in the future, I might want to put a second graphics card in. I know I can put a second 4670 in, but would it be possible to maybe crossfire a 4670 and a 4830? What would the scaling be like? Any info or experience or tests on the subject would be nice.

-Ethan
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Crossfire Question

would not work... i think only older model cards (ie x1900xtx and x1900xt's and what not) were capable of doing so

so keeping it short and sweet.. negative
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 06:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Crossfire Question

yeah i dont think you could, dont know alot about that sorry. unles the cards have identical memory,badwidth,frequencies etc. they will not work correctly.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: Crossfire Question

See, I never heard that ATI removed that option. As far as I last heard (I admit I do not pay a lot of attention to Crossfire and SLI requirements) was that with Crossfire you could have two different cards from the same series (ie both 3000 or 4000) but the higher end of the two cards would be downclocked.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Crossfire Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDiceman View Post
See, I never heard that ATI removed that option. As far as I last heard (I admit I do not pay a lot of attention to Crossfire and SLI requirements) was that with Crossfire you could have two different cards from the same series (ie both 3000 or 4000) but the higher end of the two cards would be downclocked.
No because not all the cards in the same series have the same cores, memory etc. A 4670 is very different tech to a 4870. Its not just a matter of changing clocks.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Crossfire Question

They have to have the same gpu. If you have 2 4850s from 2 different manufacturers you will be ok.

I just checked wiki, in CrossfireX you can have different cards as long as they are in the same family.

ie: 48XX cards.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Crossfire Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
They have to have the same gpu. If you have 2 4850s from 2 different manufacturers you will be ok.

I just checked wiki, in CrossfireX you can have different cards as long as they are in the same family.

ie: 48XX cards.
Aww man so I can't do a 4670 and a 4830 :\

Well, 2 4670s should be fine for a while.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Crossfire Question

yeah, crossfire doesn't work like sli where they clock down to the lower settings. basically crossfire does like one pixel from one card, one pixel for another and etc.. sli splits the frame up into halves and has each card render half of the screen.

at least i believe thats how it works, or it might be the other way around.. i forget.. but i know you can crossfire with different cards, justa s long as they are in the same family.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Crossfire Question

Really...ok ill eat my words... I thought it wasnt possible.

Still, most of the time it wouldnt be worth it as having one card clocked down may in many cases negate the point of having xfire.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Crossfire Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
yeah, crossfire doesn't work like sli where they clock down to the lower settings. basically crossfire does like one pixel from one card, one pixel for another and etc.. sli splits the frame up into halves and has each card render half of the screen.

at least i believe thats how it works, or it might be the other way around.. i forget.. but i know you can crossfire with different cards, justa s long as they are in the same family.
Nah, they have scissor, AFR and Checkerboard. They don't do per pixel.
Scissor cuts the frame in half and each do one half

AFR is alternating each doing the other frame

and Checkerboard as the name implies breaks the frame into several blocks. One card does one group and the other does the second group.

And TBH I don't see any real advantage in sli allowing you to use two different cards. It slows the faster one down so you get the performance of buying two cheaper cards while having spent the cash on a more expensive one.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help on crossfire mobo DavidJC New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-17-2008 03:37 PM
crossfire calsonic System Upgrades 7 05-16-2008 11:50 AM
Crossfire question... CrazeD Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-19-2007 01:25 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
sli or crossfire? MonkeyBusiness New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-29-2007 08:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.