crossfire or just one card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2009, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default crossfire or just one card

hey guys ..
well i am thinking about upgrading my pc, my current specs

my specs :

Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate

OS Service Pack Service Pack 1

Internet Explorer 7.0.6001.18000

DirectX DirectX 10.1

CPU QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550, 2833 MHz (8.5 x 333)

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
Motherboard Chipset Intel Eaglelake P45

Memory 4096 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DIMM2: G Skill F2-6400CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM4: G Skill F2-6400CL5-2GBPQ 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-10 @ 266 MHz)

BIOS Type Award Modular (11/14/08)

GPU ATI Radeon HD 4850 (RV770)

PSU: Antec True Power 550W
............................................
now what i am thinking about doing is getting one more kit of ram so that would give me 8 gigs , and getting another gpu for crossfire, but i am wondering if its better to go one 1 gig card or 2 of the same one i have ? does that mean i am going to need a new PSU?
thanks
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

Your PSU is fine for two HD 4850's as long as you don't take that q9550 to an extreme overclock. But tbh, unless you run at 1920x1200 I don't see any need to get another HD 4850 or another RAM kit for that matter.

If you really think the GPU isn't enough and are struggling in a lot of games, then only would I recommend considering another HD 4850.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

well the extra ram is for my 3d work , it seems that after i hit 100 million poly count i start to slow down ..
but as far as the extra GPU , i usually run my games at 1680x1050 and alot of them lag a little .
but i mean overall is it better to go crossfire or just a one 1 gig card
zenyora is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

I don't recommend 1GB cards, because most don't have the bandwidth to address all 1GB's and then take a performance hit. Nonetheless, since you work with 3d applications, the RAM would be more useful for you.

EDIT: You said you lagged a bit? Try to overclock that GPU a bit
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

i would , but its not stable and iv been having problem with it (computer hangs on a black screen) and still waiting xfx to reply to me with a fix or a return, but you have any idea what might be the issue plz let me know..
zenyora is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

Sounds like a GPU issue.. why not try to ask Newegg for an exchange? or better yet, ask XFX.. they are real cool about this kind of stuff
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

i actually opened a ticket for the issue with XFX as i wasn't able to get an answer to solve this issue , i even tried lowering the clock and raising the fan speed just to check of a heat issue, but as far as exchanging with newegg i ordered mine on 2/27/2009 so i doubt i can do that, but ill try calling xfx and see if i can get a new card . or is it too late?
zenyora is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

Nah unless you've already lived two lifetimes

XFX has a double lifetime warranty on their cards... so you should be good
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

well that's good to know..i guess i am going to have to order another card for now and when and if i get this fixed ill just run it crossfire.
thanks for the help...Rep+
zenyora is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default Re: crossfire or just one crad

sorry wrong thread
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best video card for under $60 bhiggins080123 System Upgrades 12 03-01-2009 01:19 PM
Which card for new monitor? chedderslam New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-26-2009 02:03 PM
New graphics card for 100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
SanDisk MicroSD Memory Card Not Working Andrew B. Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 02-14-2008 09:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.