crossfire help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2011, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default crossfire help

alright i have a 5770 and i was thinking about getting another one and do crossfire but i know very little about cross fire and dont even know if it would be worth doing. i was planing on selling my 8800gtx with an hr03 cooler on it since the 5770 is better. the main thing i am wanting to know is how much performance increase i would have and if it would be worth it.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: crossfire help

crossfire usually gives pretty good performance increase, and you could probably get $50+ for the 8800gtx which would make the cost of a 5770 around $50 so I'd say go for it. If nothing else you'll have 2 gpu's which look sexy and important in my opinion. haha
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: crossfire help

would my cpu bottleneck them considering my cpu is kinda old?
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: crossfire help

yes and no. i feel like most games aren't going to get your cpu to near 100% load so you shouldn't really see a major downturn in performance. and plus cf 5770's would be pretty nice with a SB setup so if you're looking to more-future-proof your setup it wouldn't be a bad idea.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: crossfire help

also would my 500w power supply be enough to power 2 5770s?
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: crossfire help

maybe? probably not though, what's your PSU?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: crossfire help

its a crappy one that came with a case my dad ordered but im using it cause my old 700w raidmax went bad
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: crossfire help

then you'd probably want to upgrade anyway.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: crossfire help

If your psu has 38+ amps on the +12v rail, then it should work, anything less then that I suggest you not to try.
brinks is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 06:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: crossfire help

A brand new Raidmax at any wattage is a crappy power supply, I'm scared to think what the substitute power supply is.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire? rob0602uk System Upgrades 7 11-10-2008 10:03 PM
Crossfire and SLI shenvoid01 Overclocking and Modding 6 02-02-2008 07:45 PM
SLI vs crossfire PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-23-2007 06:38 PM
X1900 Crossfire Edition... or X1950 Crossfire Edition? NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-21-2006 06:57 AM
Going Crossfire? NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-31-2006 01:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.