Cross Fire Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2008, 11:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Each 4870 has 2 6pin connections, so you might want to upgrade your power supply just so you dont have to use molex > 6pin adapters. As for the 500W, you will definately be pushing the limits of the poor power supply. As to running hot, its mostly because of the cooker cage they come with. Now that i have my 4870s on water, the backside of the card doesnt even get warm to the touch, whereas on the cooker cage the back of the card was very very very hot to the touch.

oh snap, my avatar is working.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 11:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I'd advise you to get a B3 stepping CPU (9x50 series), or perhaps wait for the Deneb (45nm) chips to come out - Deneb will be made for socket AM3 (which adds DDR3 support), but will actually work in socket AM2+ aswell
If he's willing to wait he should go for nehalem. It's expected to be 20-50% faster than penryn clock for clock.

Otherwise I would go with a q6600 and Xigmatek Rifle S1283 cpu cooler.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 12:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I think the irony is, that a Phenom 9750/9850 at stock would suit maroon1's needs perfectly. He doesn't overclock his Q6600.
Q6600 at stock is better overall performer. When I say it is better performer I mean that is better on average. I'm not talking about games only

Moreover, Q6600 consume less power.

Q6600 will perfectly suit my need and it is less power-hungry. Why would I buy more power-hungry Phenom 9850 which doesn't have any real advantage over Q6600 ? Just to support AMD ?!?

And this thread is not talking about me. If I don't overclock doesn't mean that others don't overclock. Thats why I tell people that Q6600 overclocks very well.

Quote:
Besides, the Phenom's are not made by Intel.
Thats subjective reason. The majority of consumers don't care about that. If you want to get phenom just because it is not made by Intel then do that by yourself, I really don't care.

Quote:
Not by much really.
So, you are admitting that Phenom is slighty worse. But you are telling him to get Phenom just because you want him to support AMD ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
If he's willing to wait he should go for nehalem. It's expected to be 20-50% faster than penryn clock for clock.
I agree with you. If he is going to buy his computer after 3 months then he should think about Nehalem because it will be out at that time.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 12:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

This thread was asking a question, lets not turn it into yet another flame war for intel vs amd please.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Well, this morning was interesting. My sister is dropping them off at the airport. I was beginning to settle in at my parents place.
And then I get a phone call from my sister informing me that their tickets have been voided. I am hoping (for my parents and computer upgrade sake) that they can resolved this issue quickly as they have been working up for this trip for the last 2 years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
So are you set on AMD or can you use Intel?
I am rather open for opinions and suggestions. However my wallet does not open as wide.
I will confess that I am a little biased towards AMD as I have been using them for the last 15 years now. However with AMD changing there sockets in 4 times in as just about as many years, I can not say that I am 100% happy with them right now.

The only reason why I am still on AMD now is that I was subjected to a lot of hand-me-down computer parts last years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Because you can't upgrade to Phenom on that board..

You need a socket AM2+ board to run a Phenom
Yeah. I am going to pick that up locally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
(which will also require DDR2 memory)
What will not be a problem for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
I advise you to get Core 2 Quad Q6600 as it is better and consume less power. Also, it one of the best overclocking chip
I don't OC that much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
if your parents are going to be in the US for 3 months, harper, then why don't you get a 4870x2 when they come out
I will keep that in mind. I just hope they can still get on the plane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Each 4870 has 2 6pin connections, so you might want to upgrade your power supply just so you dont have to use molex > 6pin adapters. As for the 500W, you will definately be pushing the limits of the poor power supply. As to running hot, its mostly because of the cooker cage they come with. Now that i have my 4870s on water, the backside of the card doesnt even get warm to the touch, whereas on the cooker cage the back of the card was very very very hot to the touch.

oh snap, my avatar is working.
Thank you for the advise. I will pick up the PSU locally then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
This thread was asking a question, lets not turn it into yet another flame war for intel vs amd please.
Yeah guys, go find a room or a boxing ring. This is my computer here.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Q6600 at stock is better overall performer. When I say it is better performer I mean that is better on average. I'm not talking about games only
Neither am I. And again, it's debatable. Even at stock.

Quote:
Q6600 will perfectly suit my need and it is less power-hungry. Why would I buy more power-hungry Phenom 9850 which doesn't have any real advantage over Q6600 ? Just to support AMD ?!?
Yup.
Or you could say: why would you get a Q6600 when it doesn't have any real advantage over the Phenom's, when buying the Phenom's supports the company that needs it, which in turn keeps competition going?
Quote:
And this thread is not talking about me. If I don't overclock doesn't mean that others don't overclock. Thats why I tell people that Q6600 overclocks very well.
Keyboard Cowboy may not overclock.
And Phenom does overclock very well too if you know how.
Quote:
Thats subjective reason.
Yeah, and?
Quote:
The majority of consumers don't care about that.
The majority of customers wouldn't even know about AMD.
Quote:
If you want to get phenom just because it is not made by Intel then do that by yourself, I really don't care.
I intend to.
Quote:
So, you are admitting that Phenom is slighty worse.
Slightly, if at all.
Quote:
But you are telling him to get Phenom just because you want him to support AMD ?
I already knew Harper/Keyboard Cowbod tended to buy AMD. I just gave him information about the newer AMD platforms, and after you came into the thread, the information that he wouldn't really benifit by switching to a Q6600. Which is true.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Heres your Options:

Wait until the last minute for Nehalem Processors (they will be pricey though, the x58 chipset itself costs $70, so the board will be pricey..) but the cheapest Bloomfield is $285

Get a Phenom (a 9x50 series) with a good AM2 board, keep in mind that AM2/am2+/AM3 are backwards compatible, but if you put it in an older Socket one, you'll lose some features

Get a Q6600, with a good LGA 775 board, faster than Phenom, but you're AMD biased

EDIT: Apok, I can't run the 125TDP Phenoms here right? so is a Tri-Core a worthy upgrade?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Wait until the last minute for Nehalem Processors (they will be pricey though, the x58 chipset itself costs $70, so the board will be pricey..) but the cheapest Bloomfield is $285
Not to mention, you'll have to use DDR3. DDR2 is much cheaper.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Get a Q6600, with a good LGA 775 board, faster than Phenom

Quote:
EDIT: Apok, I can't run the 125TDP Phenoms here right? so is a Tri-Core a worthy upgrade?
the Deneb processors won't have a 125W TDP.
If you wanted to upgrade now, the tri-core chips would work well
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 06:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Just a tiny bit, but I'm relatively sure he'll take AMD
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Cross Fire Help

Turns out that either the travel agent or the air light messed up. The trip was suppose to be have an overnight stop in Korea. And either the air line or the travelagent messed up as some one forgot to book accommodation in Korea for my parents. And since my parents booked there air plane ticket via the Teacher's Credit Union, there is no one to talk too until monday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Not to mention, you'll have to use DDR3. DDR2 is much cheaper.
Yeah. Considering that I will be upgrading from DDR to DDR2, and DDR2 is slighty cheaper that DDR1, this will mean that I can swap the ram modules around at work and continue chugging way. The advantages of living in a computer shop. So unless there is a massive price drop in DDR1 ram, I don't see that being a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
EDIT: Apok, I can't run the 125TDP Phenoms here right? so is a Tri-Core a worthy upgrade?
People might think that I am silly in the fact that I am stick sticking with AMD. However I am not silly enough to consider TriCore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Get a Phenom (a 9x50 series) with a good AM2 board, keep in mind that AM2/am2+/AM3 are backwards compatible, but if you put it in an older Socket one, you'll lose some features
When the time comes, i will be picking up a good motherboard. Since motherboard changes all the time, i will consider it closer to purchase date. However in the mean time when I get my tax return, I will be upgrading both my 400Gb Hard Drives to 1Tb and set up a raid 1 with an Adaptec RAID controller card.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fire fox 3 Luke Internet Software and Browsers 7 06-07-2008 10:34 AM
crazy glue + fabric = fire? pts2800 Off Topic Discussion 4 01-31-2008 10:48 PM
Georgia Man Safe After iPod Catches Fire in Pocket veg1992 Apple and Mac 10 10-06-2007 07:36 PM
Cross fire D-Rocks System Upgrades 4 09-30-2007 12:25 PM
Holy ****! My PC LITERALLY caught on FIRE!! Brinson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 24 09-19-2007 12:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.