Critique this setup please! I'm new to building :D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Critique this setup please! I'm new to building :D

Hi everyone, i'm fairly new to building computers, and i play a good deal of games. Also im looking into going towards 3D and animation so i was hoping some of you could steer me in the right direction. I spent many hours researching and looking at different items and crossreferrencing etc. so here it goes.

Case:Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS
PSU: OCZ / GameXStream / 700-Watt
Motherboard: Asus Asus A8N SLI Deluxe
CPU: 64 FX-60 / 2.60GHz
RAM: Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400
HD: WD 100
HD: WD 100
OD: Lite-On Lite-on 16x DVD-ROM
OD: Lite-On Lite-on 16x DVD-ROM
Sound: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 4
Video: XFX GeForce 7950 GX2 Dual GPU 520M Xtreme

Still not entirely sure about the HDD's i was considering a 10krpm but i think 7.2 is good enough for me 1 or 2 seconds wont make that much a difference i think lol. Um.... I was also considering that Thermaltake Mozart TX case and eventually modding up to some liquid cooling. Any advice is helpful, if this turns out to be a crappy setup i wont feel bad if you say so lol i'm a newb at this!
__________________

LunaireEclipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i'll tell you its dumb to get an fx60....

go intel instead if your dishing out that kinda cash and get a e6700, it outperforms the fx60 by far
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hmmm... thanks i'll look into it. Anyone else have any comments?
LunaireEclipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

everything looks great in there, only i'd go for intel core 2 duo, only because its cheaper than amd for more performance.. only if you want sli, its very limited as of now.. pretty much only an asus board that doesnt oc... but if you don't wanna oc you could grab the e6700 like i suggested and wouldnt need to oc anyway... so if you wanted to consider that..

you could also pick up some ddr2 800 ram
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

ya i recomend the e6700 aswell if anything get the e6800 if u wana be an extremist
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Well, the X6800 is a big waste of money. E6600 is pretty freaking fast at 3.4Ghz. Fastest computer I've ever used. :classic:
The General is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Well even if you get the E6300 you cant still overclock it to 3.0Ghz with stock cooling and voltages
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.