Critique my new build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2007, 12:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

if you are not overclocking (which is stupid I think since it's safe these days) then no you will not need an aftermarket cooler. As for the RAM timings just get RAM thats Cas 5 and overclock it to Cas 4. Trust me on this...It's so simple and safe a 3 year old could do it probably. Cas 4 you wouldn't notice much difference really but since money isn't an option and you want good performance then go with cas 4 ram.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default

So there is a noticeable difference then, if you think I should overclock it?
__________________

DAG is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Ram is easy to overclock and safe, actually overclocking in general these days is safe. I don't know from experience since I've always had my ram at Cas 4 but I hear in some games maps load faster with the sweet spot of timing in C2D which is 4.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default

I'll keep everything how it is in the first post then, and maybe bump the processor up to E6700.
DAG is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

NO!!! DON'T

The E6700 is the worst chip in the C2D line in terms of cash. Do not waste your money and stick with an E6600 and just buy better ram.

Please don't buy an E6700 though, just not a good buy at all.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

You don't wanna build one yet you'll upgrade it? I guess you mean take it into a shop for them to do it?
If you can replace a cpu that's bout all there is to building a computer. Putting the cpu in an the heat sink on it. Everything else snap's into place.......

That's one bad thing when buying a pre-built pc... You get some good part's an the rest end up being ****.
An then when you have one built to your liking you get screwed from being so over priced it's sad.

But with such a big build why only go with a 7950?
augest is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea I believe augest has some experience with pre-built computers and getting **** parts. The site you are buying from is highly overpriced. I would rather buy from alienware as the prices would be similar but alienware is the best.

It's sad though since he's right, putting together a computer is like building with Legos..just snap em into place.

If you really don't want to though I suggest going somewhere else as it's so overpriced.

AND if you DONT want to do that then I suggest just staying with an E6600 and getting Cas 4 ram and wasting your money...and yea go with an 8 series card instead.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
DAG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Last try...the money is not an issue

All I wanted was advice on quality parts, not what is the best bang for the buck or the best value. Let me worry about what I can and can't afford.

Anyway, I've gotten what I needed from this thread- thanks everyone.
DAG is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:34 AM   #19 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Alright....but don't do anything stupid like getting that E6700 is all. It's one of the worst choices today, stick with your E6600.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 01:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Yep, When I was younger an got my first pc it was a pre-built.
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.