Criticize my workstation build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2007, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default Criticize my workstation build

Motherboard: Abit IP35 Pro LGA 775

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 Ghz

RAM: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR2-800 (2 x 2GB)

Case: Antec P182

Power Supply: Seasonic S12 Energy Plus SS-650HT ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus 2PCE-E (6 pin) 650W

Hard Drive: Western Digital Raptor SATA 10,000 RPM 150GB

Video Card: PNY Nvidia Quadro NVS 440 Quad Display PCI-E

Video Card #2: PNY Nvidia Quadro NVS 440 Quad Display PCI-E

Sound Card TBD

CD ROM 1: Asus 18x DVD-RW (Lightscribe)

CD ROM 2: Asus 16x DVD-ROM

OS: Windows XP/Vista (Undecided)


Areas where I still have questions:

1. Keep the three 120mm fans that come standard in the Antec P182 case, or swap them out for something else.

2. Since I have two graphics cards, do I need a motherboard that has SLI or do I just need two PCIe slots? Those are 2-D cards, not gaming cards.

3. 32 bit or 64 bit OS? When using a 64 bit OS, is it just hardware drivers you need to be concerned or could there be application conflicts as well?

So you all know, I'm having someone help me do this. I've asked him the same questions, but I'm asking as many people as possible.
__________________

ChiliPalmer is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

a workstation...? yes: overkill.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

Sorry. Maybe a little background would help.

This is being used for a financial trading applications. I'll have six LCD's. I'll also have a multitude of spreadsheets, all of which will be receiving data and calculating in real-time, open during the day.
ChiliPalmer is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 10:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiliPalmer View Post
Sorry. Maybe a little background would help.

This is being used for a financial trading applications. I'll have six LCD's. I'll also have a multitude of spreadsheets, all of which will be receiving data and calculating in real-time, open during the day.
yeah okay that sounds fine, but i dont know how your getting 6 LCDs one 2 Gfx cards. are you going to use a splitter cable on one of them?
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

Yes, PNY sells the necessary cable.

PROVANTAGE: PNY 91004086 59 Pin LFH to Dual DVI Cable
ChiliPalmer is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

okay thats a pretty good build for what you want then. though, if you decide to use a 32-bit Operating system you will only get about 3.5GB (reportedly) out of the 4GB ram, so maybe it would be advisable to choose a 64-bit OS which DOES support that amount of ram. you would benefit from it, judging by your work, but check that the apps your going to be running have 64-bit versions or are compatible with 64-bit operating systems. also check your hardware to make sure they Also support 64-bit processing.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 11:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

Just like what murdo said, check for driver support for your hardware. Namely your graphics cards. Make sure you can find 64-bit drivers from Nvidia for them.

Thoes case fans should be fine. Although with running a quad core proc and 2x of those monster graphics cards, and it being underload a good amout of the time, I'd look for a case with more 120mm fans, especially if those video cards use passive-cooling.

Also, I'm not sure about the SLI question. Since they're not for 3-D gaming, you don't need them to act as one card, I'm not sure. Hopefully someone on here knows.

Also, if you're going to be reading and writting a good amount of data in large chunks, like multiple gigs of files, I'd suggest setting up a RAID away. Maybe a RAID-4 or 5, for performance and back-up.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

please don't get the raptor.
10k rpm, yeah.. but only 150gig.
you can easily get 2x 320gig's (640 gigs) for less $$ than one 150 gig raptor.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

Only 150? 150 if fine for a system drive. You get bigger drives for slave drives. That's the idea.

The 150gig raptor is darn fast.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Criticize my workstation build

good luck trying to get any operating system to recognize a 6lcd spread, even on 2 gpus.....ppl have trouble with 3 let alone 6
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
how to build a pc rebell07 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-12-2007 07:53 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.