Criticize My PSU - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 11:12 PM   #51 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

DFI boards absolutely needing a 24pin PSU is a myth that quite commonly circulates dfi-street...while I agree that it would be ideal to use the proper ATX2.0 compliant PSUs, as long as your 20 pin PSU isn't a POS it will work fine

FUGGER has used and benchmarked with 20 pin units on DFI boards and Nubius uses one of the supposedly "bad" thermaltake PSUs with a 20 pin connection and has for a few months under fairly strenuous overclocking conditions with no problems

People at DFI street also claim you have to use all four connections including the FDD molex connection in order for your board to be "stable"...quite simply put there are many overexagerated myths floating around that lead people to believe their boards will catch fire unless they use exact specifications
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:41 AM   #52 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

So do I or do I not need a new PSU?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:46 AM   #53 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If the one you have now is working I *GUESS* you could keep it, but if you can afford the FPS group PSU, GET IT
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:47 AM   #54 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Well then appearntly you're not very bright. I don't even know why I bother anymore, if people don't want to take the good advise from people on computer help forums (especially the XtremeSystems.org forums), it's your money and you are entitled to waste it however you see fit.
Is that to me? The hell are you talkin about?




Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
So do I or do I not need a new PSU?
4 pages of responses, in which most of the people involved said "YES!"
Camden is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:56 AM   #55 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Whatever... I guess I'm getting it then...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 10:10 AM   #56 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
Whatever... I guess I'm getting it then...

k..?
Camden is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 01:53 PM   #57 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well ****. I don't know if I want to or not! I don't know if anything is wrong with the one I have because I cannot test it out properly.

It's either the new PSU or the WD Raptor 36gb HDD.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 01:59 PM   #58 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

its your choice really but a better power supply is always a good upgrade.

As longas you don't buy one ****ter.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:02 PM   #59 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Is this FSP one- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934

a good one?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:59 PM   #60 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Okay, still need an answer... Also, it shows a 24pin plug, is that the right one?

On techpowerup.com, it says the mobo works best and oc'ing is more stable with a 24pin + 8pin power cables plugged into the mobo. In the pic on newegg (link in post above) it doesn't show an 8pin power plug.

I guess it looks like it has 2 4pin plugs, is that what I use to make it an 8pin plug?

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/DFI/LPNF4Expert/3

and the two pics I am looking at on newegg:

All plugs:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...FSP%20Group%20(Fortron%20Source)%20AX500-A%20ATX12V%20500W%20Power%20Supply%20-%20Retail

24pin plug:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...FSP%20Group%20(Fortron%20Source)%20AX500-A%20ATX12V%20500W%20Power%20Supply%20-%20Retail
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.