Criticize My PSU - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 06:50 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well I know that lol.... I mean where do I test....
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:01 PM   #42 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Not sure. Never done it before.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:56 PM   #43 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Set your multimeter to read 12v current and then attached it to a 12v connection coming from your PSU...not hard, however make sure you don't touch any PCBs with it or they will short out and die on you
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:03 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

What am I looking for? Fluctuations? What is acceptable...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:07 PM   #45 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://techist.com/showthread.php?po...968#post613968
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:27 PM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well I ran accross a link on the link you posted earlier gaara, it says a I need a 24pin PSU for DFI NF4 boards... Not a 20-24pin adapter, a native 24pin PSU. So it looks like I have to upgrade my PSU now . I don't really want to because none of the good ones have good cable management... What should I do now?

Also I can seem to figure this testing thing out, I have my voltmeter set to 20amps DC Current, and I put the red to the red wire on one of my 12v connections, and the black to the black closest to the red. It shut my computer down... All is good though, thank god!
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:38 PM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I'd say maybe keep the psu and see if it will actually work on the board, if not, get an antec smartpower or fortron source
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:24 PM   #48 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

ALWAYS use a 24-pin native PSU for DFI. Here is a VERY good one and is reasonably priced, and has a rebate:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104935
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:46 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

There aren't any more powerful ones? DFI also recommends a 480watt PSU, that one is only 400watts. Thanks for the help everyone!

Edit: NVM! Yay it is blue too! http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934

The cables are nice and tidy as well!
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:04 PM   #50 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you have the extra money, yeah, get that one.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.