CPUs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default CPUs

If I wanted a CPU that can play these days and future games without any lag on full settings what would you recommend?
I would also be using software like paint shop pro, word etc
Im not sure to go with AMD or Intel, usually AMD is better for gaming? But these Core 2 duo's look good and im not sure what to get? can anyone advice on what speed i should get if im wanting to game on max settings?
Thanks

EDIT: I dont really want to spend over £100 but im all ears open
__________________

adam06 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

For just a CPU you should get an e6300, but if it's for a motherboard and a CPU, then I don't think you can afford that.

But e6300 if it's just 100 pounds.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

oh i found this one: Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale" 1.86GHz (1066FSB)

1.86GHz isnt that a little slow... my computer now is a 2.4GHz.... or am i missing something out?

ok so Intel would be a better choice? And What Motherboard would you recommend? pref cheap cos the cpu is allready expensive for me.
adam06 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

I was thinking: a AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diago or a Intel P4 541 Prescott
are either one of them good for gaming, im choosing them because they suit my budget really.
Thanks.
adam06 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

A Core 2 Duo e6300 is in Core 2 clock speed, it does more work per clock.

Trust me, you will get the best performance from an e6300. But if you don't believe me, suit yourself, you'll have a slower computer -_-
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

ok, so is a pentium D a big drop from core 2 duo?
adam06 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

video card matters most of course. Ive got a pentium d940 you can buy
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.