cpu upgrade. (s939) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2007, 12:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

The opty isn't worth the extra money in it's performance. It may be better but no 45 bucks more better I think.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
go for the otpy itl make your rig live longer. plus stoc itl outperform that crappy 3800+x2
well if he doesnt wanna spend that much than the $60 cpu is a good choice.
But in the end it all depends on his mobo.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

I can get this x2 3800 to 2.6 easily I would presume, and it was $55 or $57. With free shipping. It also came with a free copy of Splinter cell double agent.

The only advantage I see in the opty is the 1mb L2 cache. For me it just isn't worth the $40 some odd dollars more.

And anyway, I already made the purchase.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

Wow, thanks for making this posts. I hadn't realised the s939 X2 had dropped down that low. I'm gonna buy one and hopefully this will allow me to keep my system going for another year A X2 and the raid I'm gonna set up should give a nice improvement.
Now I just need to find a deal on some ddr1 ram and a hard drive. Dang staples ran out of their $50 400gb hdd
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

Cheapest I could find some decent ddr400 ram was $100 for G skill. It was 2 1gb sticks (2 gigs total) It is more expensive then ddr800 performance ram.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

Yeah the ram prices suck. I was thinking of just buying 1 gb more for about $50 but for $75 I could get some really good ddr2 and then just spend $30 more on the cpu and get the new pentium and a new mobo for about $100. But I can't really justify spending that kind of cash right now.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

i got some 3 month old corsair 1gb of ram. Its the value select i believe.
Im not even using it anymore...ill give to you ya for $40 shipped.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

Opty has 2mb cache. I had mine at 2.8 on stock voltage w/ Gskill Ns' @ ddr500 with low timings. It was a beast for s939. If I were you I would've gone for an opty instead. Too late now though. Still a good choice regardless.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

the opty woulda been so much beter. when ocd properly it can compete with some c2d's a 3800 never will.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 06:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: cpu upgrade. (s939)

for the last time, I was not willing to spend $100. When I will have a whole new rig in time. 0_0 durrrrrrrrrrr, I think I mentioned that about 3 times.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.