CPU upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2009, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default CPU upgrade

hi. i have a biostar TA790GX AM2+ motherboard and im about to upgrade from a athlon x2 5600+ to a phenom 9950 BE. this is my first time swapping a cpu. my question is, do i need to make bios adjustments before i install the new cpu? currently my 5600+ is overclocked to 3.2 Ghz. so i was thinking to just load optimal defaults, install the new cpu, make sure everything is good, then start overclocking again. is that the proper game plan?
__________________

Axxion V is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: CPU upgrade

If I were you I would honestly try to get a Phenom II. Or maybe an Athlon II X4 over a 9950. As far as BIOS goes, just clear the CMOS when you install the new CPU, and set everything to what you need to.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: CPU upgrade

It's probably a good idea for you to update to the latest bios first before you swap, since the older bios might not have the support for the newer chip yet.
brinks is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 03:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: CPU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
It's probably a good idea for you to update to the latest bios first before you swap, since the older bios might not have the support for the newer chip yet.
Definitely. I had that same problem when I installed mine. It was a huge hassle. I had installed XP on a machine originally built for Vista, and the BIOS updater didn't work in XP, so I had to wipe my HDD and put Vista on just to upgrade the BIOS. Definitely make sure you update the BIOS first.
iFargle is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: CPU upgrade

Thanks. I updated the bios and installed new cpu. everything went well. one thing im curious about though... my hardware monitor shows the cpu temp idle about 44c. now about every 30 seconds to 1 minute the temp will spike to 92c for only a split second. anyone heard of this before? bios shows 38c so im thinkings it's a misreading for whatever reason.

Also i picked up the 9950 off ebay new for $100 out the door. i really wanted a phenom II 940 but there is a big price difference and i grew impatient.
Axxion V is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 04:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: CPU upgrade

What's your load temps?
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 06:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: CPU upgrade

lately.. idle has been 38-39c and load 44-45c @ stock. still have the 92 spike
__________________

Axxion V is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU upgrade question elreece System Upgrades 15 06-08-2009 02:49 PM
CPU upgrade TheHumanComputer System Upgrades 32 06-07-2009 05:54 PM
Is a cpu upgrade possible on my old dell? jollygrunt System Upgrades 10 04-17-2008 09:05 AM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.