cpu temps high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2010, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Default cpu temps high?

My i7 930 idles at 38dC, and hits 82dC when running prime 95. after I returned to stock clocking speeds, ithe idle temp is about the same, but it runs cooler on prime95, about 70dC. I'm using a cooler master v8 on the cpu. Whats going on?
__________________

ChrisG23 is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Alive.777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: QLD, Australia
Posts: 201
Default Re: cpu temps high?

You may have applied to much thermal paste to your cpu, common mistake (made it myself). you only need a drop about the size of a BB. and make sure its spread out evenly and thin, very thin. See if that helps, if not, post back. good luck
__________________

Alive.777 is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: cpu temps high?

I'm at 70C with the stock cooler when at 100% load, if you're using a good cooler then you probably applied the thermal paste wrong. You don't need much, just a thin layer. Also try turning up the fan speed on your cooler if you can. You can also undervolt the chip a bit, if you set the voltage manually you can make the chip run cooler, but you run the risk of making your system unstable. I started by dropping my core voltage to around 1.00V and started going up from there until the PC stopped crashing (an unstable CPU will usually cause a blue screen of death within minutes of boot or running CPU-intensive programs).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Default Re: cpu temps high?

If i need to tear the whole mobo out of the case, should I lap the cpu and cooler right away while its apart, or is that a waste of time?
ChrisG23 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: cpu temps high?

Arctic Silver 5 or TX-2? anyone have better luck with one over the other?
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu temps high?

AS5 Is old school, tx-2 is top right now.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: cpu temps high?

Awesome, thanks
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: cpu temps high?

You shouldn't need to lap the Cooler Master V8, at the most I would just use 1500 and 2000 grit paper to polish it. The CPU may need Lapping (it's usually good for a few degrees) but it will Void your Warranty, be very careful and clean it throughly with alcohol afterwards (to remove any and all of the metal flakes).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Default Re: cpu temps high?

Reaplied thermal paste (much less) a drop just a slight bit bigger than a bb. then made sure the cooler was sitting properly on the cpu. Now running prime 95 on stock clocking speed, and hitting 79dC on core #0. The rest are a slight bit lower, progressivly down to core 3 which is around 72dC. I dont understand why it is so hot... Its the stock clock on a DO chip...Should be no higher than 65dC! ARGH!
ChrisG23 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 06:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Default Re: cpu temps high?

BTW: im using an antec 900 case, and all fans including the cpu are maxed out on high.
__________________

ChrisG23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
CPU temps at 100% load Leatherface Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 26 06-02-2009 11:36 PM
Rather high CPU usage? (probably not virus) bonehelm Viruses, Spyware and Malware 7 12-01-2008 03:58 AM
Need something that monitors CPU and GPU temps. Disillusion New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-05-2007 05:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.