CPU temp now starting to drop? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 09:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

20,000 hours? I thought only 200 hours. Hm...... Wow, thats like the lifetime of my CPU.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
20,000 hours? I thought only 200 hours. Hm...... Wow, thats like the lifetime of my CPU.
lol yeah, 200 hours

well it seems it hasn't been 200 hours since you've applied the arctic 5 right? just let it rest :P

from what I hear, globbing on the stuff is fine as long as it doesn't leak out over the edges onto your mobo since the stuff in the air can make it short out your mobo/other parts
__________________

commandercup is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

You had to make another thread about this?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
well... i'd take the HZ, because its specs are overall better... except that its 2gb "only" as the 4gb has worse specs like latency of 5, and the timings are 5-5-5-15... personally take the HZ's or take the 4gb and see if you can get a good clock out of it

its a matter of specs vs ram quantity
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
well... i'd take the HZ, because its specs are overall better... except that its 2gb "only" as the 4gb has worse specs like latency of 5, and the timings are 5-5-5-15... personally take the HZ's or take the 4gb and see if you can get a good clock out of it

its a matter of specs vs ram quantity
I'd say the extra 2 gigs far outweights the slightly worse timings
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

wait.. i read your other post.. since you said your not overclocking... because of your B3 q6600, ya then take the 4gb.. but get 64bit otherwise you can only use 3.3 GB of it...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

I have 64-Bit Vista Premium

Ye, since I cant really overclock much I think Im just going to get the 4GB for a total of 6GB.

LOL, didnt think that I would have 6GB of RAM. But I am going to play flight sim which requires a good graphics and a lot of ram to play smoothly, I think.

Ill just set the timings at 5-5-5-15 on my HZ and that 4GB one @ 800MHz probably at 1.9 volts.

Hopefully it is stable. Its not even overclocked so it should be haha
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 11:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

DOOD. you are so trippin.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 11:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

pinoy,

If you hadn't worried so much about benchmark scores and how overclocking affects it, then all this fiasco might not have happened. Just play some games man. You can't tell me, that with a E6600 or Q6600 with an 8800GTS 640MB, can't play games well. Even at stock.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 12:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: CPU temp now starting to drop?

Every time Pinoy posts, somewhere an English teacher is dieing on the inside.

Jk man :laughing:

Hope you get those temps down, but at the end of the day your rig should be able to play anything you throw at it without a problem.
__________________

Grievearz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-11-2007 01:25 AM
Trying hard to bring CPU temp down... krazy_taco Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 09-09-2007 12:49 AM
cpu temp spiking advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2007 10:49 AM
60C for motherboard temp good? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-22-2007 10:21 PM
Intel price drop.... laptops.... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-20-2007 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.