CPU temp 52 degrees... Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2007, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Hey guys I opened up Speed Fan to check my computer temps. I noticed by the CPU there's a little flame. Is 52 degrees too hot? What kind of temps should my PC be at? I can't seem to find my 2 graphic card temps and I'm worried about them too. Here's an image of Speed Fan.

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/4240/tempicpm2.jpg

EDIT:
Here's my current system ... Rate my PC - Scale 1-10, Comment
(I have a 500GB Seagate 7200.11 and a Corsair 620W instead)

RE EDIT: I'm a tad confused. Isn't the 4 cores combined my CPU? Or am I being stupid here? Feel me in if you can!
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

you forgot the link to your current rig ^^ you got a q6600? if so 52 degrees isnt too hot. They're certified for 71c max i believe. mine runs at 55 load. ive seen it get as hot as 65 if I turn the fan speed down. 52 isn't anythign to worry about.

nice hd and psu btw XD

Though i don't quite understand the speedfan cpu and core 1-4 thing myself.
thats why I use cortemp. nice and simple. lol
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
you forgot the link to your current rig ^^ you got a q6600? if so 52 degrees isnt too hot. They're certified for 71c max i believe. mine runs at 55 load. ive seen it get as hot as 65 if I turn the fan speed down. 52 isn't anythign to worry about.

nice hd and psu btw XD

Though i don't quite understand the speedfan cpu and core 1-4 thing myself.
thats why I use cortemp. nice and simple. lol
Here you go oops.
Rate my PC - Scale 1-10, Comment

I want to overclock however. I believe I just need to cool it down a little more. Would regular side fans help to keep it cool? I have 5 120mm fan slots to fill up.

As for coretemp I'll try installing it, but it wouldn't let me. It says "The driver has failed to load". It also said .NET FrameWork 2.0 required. However I have it installed. I believe the problem is because I use Vista 64 bit.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

what heat sink do you have i got my chip at 3.5ghz and it runs 55 degrees load on games, and i have a tuniq tower. not even laped yet.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

I use the default heat sinc that came with the processor.

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

Should I get a different one? If so, what would you recommend?
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 02:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashedpumpkins View Post
I use the default heat sinc that came with the processor.

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

Should I get a different one? If so, what would you recommend?
you need to get rid of that pronto. Get a tuniq tower. Will lower your temps by a fairly large amount. I actually have a Zalman 9700, but I think I am going to switch to the tuniq.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 03:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
you need to get rid of that pronto. Get a tuniq tower. Will lower your temps by a fairly large amount. I actually have a Zalman 9700, but I think I am going to switch to the tuniq.
This one here?
Newegg.com - Tuniq Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler - Retail
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

um run core temp i just found out that speed fan is about 12c lower on core 2 chips meaning your temps are probably a about 65 celciuous, which isnt bad for load, my 3.5ghz q6600 runs at 70 load on the 3d mark 06 cpu test it shot up to 78 for one secodn went back down to 70, it runs at like 68 in crysis, but im definatly gonna be lapping now.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 06:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashedpumpkins View Post
yeah, that is a good one to get. It will keep you cool, if you find out your temps really are high
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: CPU temp 52 degrees... Question

Sounds good, do you guys know of some good cheap quiet 120 mm fans? I can put in 5 total. I'm thinking about getting 5, but turning some off if not needed.
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
question about what to worry about cpu temp or core temp? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 2 12-19-2007 06:53 AM
Max Operating Temperature = CPU Temp or Core Temps? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 2 09-28-2007 07:36 PM
core#0 and core#1 temp lower than cpu??? advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-28-2007 01:06 AM
cpu temp spiking advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2007 10:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.