CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

I've seen a billion threads like these already about people not seeing the right speed, so I thought I'd clear it up, also kill two birds with one stone by also explaining Cool and Quiet Technology

Explanation
Cool and Quiet and Speedstep are both power saving features used by AMD and Intel processors respectively, what they do is reduce the Heat and (possibly Loudness) by reducing the clock speeds when Idle by dropping the Voltage and the Multiplier

CPU's having Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology:
Intel:

Intel Celeron Dual-Core
Intel Core i7
Intel Core i7 Extreme
Intel Core 2 Duo
Intel Core 2 Extreme
Intel Core 2 Quad
Intel Pentium D (just the Preslers)
Intel Pentium Dual-Core

AMD:
Athlon64
Athlon64 X2 FX
Athlon64 X2
Opteron
Phenom X3
Phenom X4
Phenom II X3
Phenom II X4

Disabling These Features
Intel: you simply disable C1E and EIST in the BIOS
AMD: Disable CNQ in your BIOS (I need an accuracy check on this one)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

There you go.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

wow I wasn't expecting this to become a Sticky
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

You want me to unsticky it for you??
It can be arranged...


Ste is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

I have had a couple people tell me that having speedstep and C1E enabled while your system is overclocked can make your system unstable. Is there any truth to this?
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
I have had a couple people tell me that having speedstep and C1E enabled while your system is overclocked can make your system unstable. Is there any truth to this?
Yes, but it does not hold true for everyone, just for most people. You will have to try it on your own setup to see for yourself.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

lol, i didnt have these disabled in my bios when i first started overclocking and didn't seem to make much difference for me. But later on i disabled them for the sake of it.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

Baron, post your setup in the intel overclocking thread, that also goes for anyone else that has yet to.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

Cool thanks.. wasn't sure exactly what they were.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

disabling Cool'n'Quiet also ensures that the TLB bug in B2 Phenom processors will not rear it's ugly head up. even with virtualisation, and 100&#37; load.

No need for a BIOS fix, which will cripple performance.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.