CPU Questoin - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 01:01 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Default

I can't get to the links but if the motherboards say socket 939 then there fine.
__________________

__________________
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:21 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if it is an NF4 LanParty UT it should support s939 opterons.

Quote:
I wanna get a x2 3800+, would the Opty be better? I won't be overclocking though.
if you are not overclocking you would probably be better off with the 3800+ because around our part of the world (NZ/Australia) the 3800+ is significantly cheaper than the opteron 165.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:03 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

All DFI NF4 Lanparty series of motherboards support Opterons as far as I know. The Ultra-D, SLI-D, SLI-DR, and the SLI Expert all support Opterons, most s939 motherboards support Opterons. Either the Opty 165 or the 3800+ will work fine. At stock the 3800+ plays single threaded games fine and plays great on multiple-threaded games. In AMD cores the 2 x 1mb cache doesn't help all that much over 2 x 512kb in games.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:05 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

so if it doesnt say that it supports opterons on the specs, is that the stores fault?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 10:42 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Heres the link to both of them at 2 different stores, neither of them say that they support the Opteron...

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=2&NoMapp=0

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...506&cid=MB.693

am i looking at the wrong ones?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

As far as i know, no motherboard says that they supports opteron, except for the server ones.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:42 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh so, any mobo tht says s939 supports Opte right? uggh this is so frustrating, i really dont want to screw up.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Any 939 can use Opteron 1xx series. (some need to be flashed that are old).

Don't use Artic silver unless your using your own heatsink. The stock heatsink already has thermal paste on it.

Thermalright has good heatsinks.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:24 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
if it is an NF4 LanParty UT it should support s939 opterons.



if you are not overclocking you would probably be better off with the 3800+ because around our part of the world (NZ/Australia) the 3800+ is significantly cheaper than the opteron 165.
The Opty is only $40 more expensive over here. That's why I've got a hard decision too, of picking an Opty or the 3800+. I've already got my mobo, and it's s939.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

IM going to OC so i was told to get thermal paste, and you can never have it 2 cool. so basically the 165 is compatible with any 939 socket mobo?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.