CPU Questoin - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default CPU Questoin

Guys I dunno which CPU to pick. These are my choices

1) 64 x2 3800+
2)opteron 144
3) opteron 246
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

if any good cheap ones under 400$, plz suggest, im thinkin of the 165 opte
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'd buy the 165 opteron, but this is a really vauge thread.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

First off, Remove the Opteron 246 from your list as it is a Socket 940.

and second what is this CPU intended for. If it's gaming then the Opteron 165. If it's school work or other applications then a Sempron.
adam02 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

with 940-pin CPU board, you wont get options with motherboard that you can get with 939-pin (Athlon in this case). unless otherwise you are installing everything seperately, but again, Opetrons are made for stability, whilst Athlons are made for performance (in basic config).
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Opteron 165
turtile is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

opteron 165 it is, but does the 165 overclock to a higher speed than the x2 3800+?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Now you got me thinkin.

I wanna get a x2 3800+, would the Opty be better? I won't be overclocking though.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 165 is 200MHZ slower than the 3800+x2, but it has double the cache. You could overclock it a simple 200mhz, you could do that on stock cooling and stock voltage, and it would be as fast as the 3800+ with double the cache. Of course it overclocks faster the 3800+, I have one, and mine is at 2.8GHz on air cooling. That's faster than the FX-60.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

What would you recommend, seeing as I won't be overclocking?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.