cpu/motherboard compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2009, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default cpu/motherboard compatibility

Recent rumors have been spreading that both AMD and Intel are edging away from a full-fledged DDR3 push due to a lack of consumer demand. While this remains a rumor for the time being, it's a good time to remind anyone who might have forgotten that AM3 CPUs, which are due to launch soon, will be backwards compatible with Socket AM2/AM2+ motherboards.

This will be the first time AMD has maintained backwards compatibility across a socket change and it has significant ramifications for anyone who owns an older board. New Phenom II AM3 parts at lower speeds (and price points) should be drop-in replacements for anyone with an AM2-based Athlon 64 X2 or existing Phenom system. Thanks to the 45nm shift, these new AM3 chips should also be far more suited to the power limitations in certain 780G motherboards as well.


Okay... I have already asked this, but unless I'm reading it wrong I could throw an AM3 chip into my am2 board? Or does my board need to be am2+???
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: cpu/motherboard compatibility

You can use a regular AM2 board for an AM3. But not all of them will, it is mainly up to the motherboard vendor. So no, it does not have to be AM2+ as long as the proper bios is supported for AM3.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: cpu/motherboard compatibility

hmm.. I've got the asus m2n-e sli and have never done a BIOS update. i assume not.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: cpu/motherboard compatibility

Looks like your doesn't support any Phenoms:
http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/c...roduct=1&os=25
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Indesign Compatibility The Napster Apple and Mac 2 08-18-2008 11:19 PM
Vista compatibility mode - 640x480 forrestcupp Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-22-2008 12:30 PM
80GB PS3 Gets Price Cut, Loses Backwards Compatibility Osiris Sony Playstation 3 07-17-2008 02:01 PM
Memory Compatibility - How is it determined? eXce!!eNt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-03-2008 03:52 PM
Building pc, checking compatibility and need some advice Legacy01 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-04-2007 01:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.