CPU+MoBo= what do you think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Default CPU+MoBo= what do you think?

Ok I have recently decided on a cpu and mobo for my gaming comp and just wanted to know what you guys think .



AMD Athlon 64 3700 and ASUS A8N5X

here are some links on newegg just in case-
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131569
__________________

__________________
#teamdismay
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I don't know how I let this thread slip by...

First of all, you messed up your links. All you link to is the CPU. Now, there is a key question I have:

Will you be overclocking?

If you're going to be overclocking, I'd suggest instead of that, get a Opteron 146 or 148 and an MSI K8N Neo4-F, or the premium, more expensive overclocking mobo, DFI LanParty Ultra-D. If not, that looks fine to me. I don't know about the overclocking capabilities of the ASUS' board's BIOS, so if you think you may try to overclock at any point in time, grab the MSI K8N Neo4-F. It's the same price and it's a great overclocker.

Don't forget the dual core option if you come across a bit more cash. $65 more and you can get a good dual-core CPU (X2 3800+): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

Or the overclocking beast (Opteron 165): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Default

The links are not the same. Its not like I went back and edited it . Lol, but i really dont know why they were the same the first time, i copied and pasted each url but idk.

Anyway, thanks for the advice and im not planning to oc but ill look into the opteron anyways
__________________
#teamdismay
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

If you're not overclocking, the only benefit you'll see is the 1MB L2 cache over the lower-end Athlon's 512KB L2 cache. If you don't overclock, I doubt it'd be worth dishing out the extra money for an Opteron.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i've noticed a trend lately with people choosing this motherboard. i still reccomend DFI LanParty boards over Asus s939 boards because i have seen too many problems and too many D.O.A boards to reccomend them. step up to a dual core is my reccomendation
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 05:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
If you're not overclocking, the only benefit you'll see is the 1MB L2 cache over the lower-end Athlon's 512KB L2 cache. If you don't overclock, I doubt it'd be worth dishing out the extra money for an Opteron.
athlons have 1mb L2 cache as well.. for single core, the san diego core has 1mb L2 and the venice core has 512kb L2 cache.

for dual core you have the manchester and the toledo.

the thing with opterons is that you can get the bigger L2 cache, with low clock speeds (a lot cheaper) and then you can compensate by overclocking it as its a notorious overclocker... hence achieving best value. (fast speed, big L2 cache..)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I was thinking about the lower-end ones. Tough to remember when they start all turning to 1MB .
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 04:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Dual Core processors will come in handy, as we're starting to see some multi-threaded games that can actually take advantage of them. I'd suggest you get either the 3800+ or the Opteron 165 if you have the money available.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.