CPU or GPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2014, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: hungary
Posts: 6
Default CPU or GPU?

Current GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6570 1GB (0x6759)
Current CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 3.16Ghz (LGA 775 - Wolfdale)

So like... i was about to buy myself a new graphic card when one of my friends suggested to forget it because my cpu is too old and it would bottleneck anything i bought.
Both GPU and CPU could use an update since they both lag behind times, but i can afford only to change one. Either i buy some high end GPU between 150-200$ or i get an entry tier i3-4130 and thus change my motherboard/ram/cpu.

The question is, which would be more justified/pressing?
Thank you for any insights/suggestions you can offer.
__________________

Aerensiniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

i would recommend you save up until u can get a whole new build.
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerensiniac View Post
Current GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6570 1GB (0x6759)
Current CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 3.16Ghz (LGA 775 - Wolfdale)

So like... i was about to buy myself a new graphic card when one of my friends suggested to forget it because my cpu is too old and it would bottleneck anything i bought.
Both GPU and CPU could use an update since they both lag behind times, but i can afford only to change one. Either i buy some high end GPU between 150-200$ or i get an entry tier i3-4130 and thus change my motherboard/ram/cpu.

The question is, which would be more justified/pressing?
Thank you for any insights/suggestions you can offer.
What games do you play? Platform change to an i3 would be a significant increase in performance and give you a good upgradable platform. If you bought something like a 750ti (which isn't a high end card) it would be heavily bottlenecked by the CPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: hungary
Posts: 6
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What games do you play? Platform change to an i3 would be a significant increase in performance and give you a good upgradable platform. If you bought something like a 750ti (which isn't a high end card) it would be heavily bottlenecked by the CPU.
For example's sake lets see...
Skyrim, Planetside 2, The secret world, Starcraft 2, etc

The other problem is that even though i think i have enough money to grab a radeon r9 270x, the idea gives me the creeps since im unsure how this old of a hardware/motherboard would react to it.
Aerensiniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

It would work, but your current GPU will "handle" those games albeit lower settings and resolution. Get yourself that i3, a cheap H81 board (the Asus K one should be available in your area), and the cheapest 1600MHz 8GB set of DDR3 you can get. It's the best option you have, because later on you can get yourself a nice i5 or even pair a much better GPU to that i3. I have a buddy running a 2GB 680 on an i3 3130 without issue.

I have to ask, is your current setup a pre-built? And what kind of PSU are you running?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

well a cheaper option is to buy used. i see that ur in Hungary. i know if maybe u have something like craiglist there like we tho here in the U.S.
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: hungary
Posts: 6
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It would work, but your current GPU will "handle" those games albeit lower settings and resolution. Get yourself that i3, a cheap H81 board (the Asus K one should be available in your area), and the cheapest 1600MHz 8GB set of DDR3 you can get. It's the best option you have, because later on you can get yourself a nice i5 or even pair a much better GPU to that i3. I have a buddy running a 2GB 680 on an i3 3130 without issue.

I have to ask, is your current setup a pre-built? And what kind of PSU are you running?
Its not a pre-built. I prefer to build myself, comparing and picking from multiple sources. Less kool-aid and bad surprises that way.
Didnt think much about the PSU, i figured i would go with the standard 400W for now, and the setup i had in mind was a H81 mATX, i3-4130 and 2x2gb 1600mhz ram. I wanted to play around with the prices to somehow get 8gb, but with my current budget that would be impossible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drogos View Post
well a cheaper option is to buy used. i see that ur in Hungary. i know if maybe u have something like craiglist there like we tho here in the U.S.
True enough.
Aerensiniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

What's the brand of 400w you're talking here? A decent 400w with that i3 and a 750ti later would be fine.

Is 1333 cheaper? If so, I would do anything to make 8GB fit in your budget.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 05:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: hungary
Posts: 6
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Is 1333 cheaper? If so, I would do anything to make 8GB fit in your budget.
Thats what i was baffled about myself. The difference between 1333 and 1600 is like 0.5 euro. Literally.
So the only way i could bend that in is by passing on the i3 and grab a standard lga1150 dual core, which is kind of a bad idea for obvious reasons.
Aerensiniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: CPU or GPU?

Not really. The only difference between the Pentium high ends and the i3 is HT.

Here in the US the 4130 and G3450 has a 25 dollar difference but are pretty much the same CPU.

If you can wait like a week the G3258 is the Anniversary Edition chip. It is only 75 bucks but can be overclocked on any S1150 board. If you can get a decent overclock on it you'll be getting i5 performance in a lot of games.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small GPU, single fan vs. Larger GPU, dual fan. Which will stay cooler in a Mini-ITX system? FairPlay New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-02-2014 04:25 PM
gpu overheating, upgrade gpu or new system? gskgsad New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-14-2009 01:54 PM
quad core vs duel core..single gpu vs x2 gpu soulafien New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-21-2008 04:41 PM
2GB of GPU Memory? Dual GPU's on one card wtf will they come up with next? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-03-2007 05:58 PM
Would it be better if...... GPU vs. GPU hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-08-2006 11:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.