CPU or GPU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 04:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

or even the other way around, sell the 3700+ and get an X2 4400+. the 3700+ still has some decent resale value i think.....especially when compared to the resale value of X2's now.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 07:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Yes X2's are worth it
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Default

seems like it is a split decision. For the most part though....everyone seems to think that 1 better VGU is better than 2 running in sli.....right?
The 2x cpu.....faster would be better.....if I were programming or running several apps at a time.
I think I'm leaning towards a new gpu......leaning though. The cost is more than what i planned on, unless i can sell the 6800gt.
wjones007 is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

If you get an X2 I would buy a 3800+, fast enough for anything you can throw at it. And yes, putting to gpu's in SLI is a waste of money considering you get crap for performance upgrade and it will be outdated in no time flat, plus it can already handle it so why bother.

It is like me saying that I want to get my dad a computer with a 7800GT when all he plays is solitare, if that.

If what you have works, stick with it, only thing that may help would be an X2 for programming and other apps.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 06:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Default

If I get an x2....would my mobo work with it: Asus Premium SLI
wjones007 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 11:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

virtually all s939 motherboards are compatible with the s939 X2's with at the most a BIOS flash
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.