CPU Core temp and CPUTIN - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2011, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Hey all,

I just built a new rig with a i5-2500k (stock speeds and HSF). I got SpeedFan and saw the core temps are all 30-35ish celcius idling, but the CPUTIN ~120c which seems real hot. What is CPUTIN and is that temp normal? Thanks.

-Riznarf
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Just Googling around I saw that high readings for the CPUTIN isn't that rare.
From Tom's Hardware:
Quote:
CPUTIN is CPU Temperature Input.

Core temperatures are always higher than CPU temperature, which means the tables for your CPU temperature are miscoded in BIOS. You can try flashing your BIOS to the latest release, which will sometimes correct the inaccuracy.
You're core temps are great so as long as you aren't getting BSODs, random shut-downs, or smoke and fire, its probably just a misreading/glitch.

Try using HWMonitor (CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting) and see if you're getting the same readings.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Yes my brother has a similar error on his AMD board which gives an extremely high constant temperature from speedfan. This is not correct; there is nothing to be worried about. (Honestly, if something was that hot, your computer would probably shut down or something...)
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fox View Post
Yes my brother has a similar error on his AMD board which gives an extremely high constant temperature from speedfan. This is not correct; there is nothing to be worried about. (Honestly, if something was that hot, your computer would probably shut down or something...)
Ok, thats what i figured. Thank you both for the reassuring responses. On a sidenote, whats an"average" load temp for a i5-2500 @ stock? Ive seen 70-90c?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

A max load temp (Prime95/LinX) should be mid-60s to low-70s tops.
If its going over 80įc with everything stock something is awry.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

After getting SpeedFan to monitor my temps, i put my GPU to a stress test and it was hitting mid-80s on stock clock. Kinda made me nervous but I then got Afterburner and saw the fans were only running at about 40%. When I knocked them up to 85% the temp dropped to 68-72, which is fine, right?

Final question, why will Afterburner only let me spin the GPU fan at 85%? Anytime I tried to go higher it would settle on 85%....same thing on eVGA's Precision software. Is that just how GPU fans are?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Gpu's are good till 100C.

I run mine at 100% load and 81C 24/7.

You can't go above 85% as the card probably uis programed not tooi. I've had that with a core setting before.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Ok, cool, thx. One last thing, and I know this is the wrong forum to post this, so feel free to yell at me, but if I want to OC my GPU, just entry level at say...a ~10% OC (im at 732/1900 now) to say 800/2050, do I (or will I ever need to increase the GPU voltage like you do on a CPU OC?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 06:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Core temp and CPUTIN

Most likely not.

Only some cards can have the voltage raised.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPUTIN and Core1/2? RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 0 07-30-2010 03:16 AM
Real Temp v Core Temp Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-07-2009 04:22 PM
core temp speedfan temp. loc? bkolk Overclocking and Modding 13 07-05-2008 09:25 PM
question about what to worry about cpu temp or core temp? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 2 12-19-2007 06:53 AM
core#0 and core#1 temp lower than cpu??? advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-28-2007 01:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.