CPU Cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2008, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default CPU Cooling

I was wondering what the best heatsink is at this store
CPU Cooling in Canada at Memory Express Computers
Also how important are thermal compounds, and which one should i get
Thermal Compound in Canada at Memory Express Computers

I want a good heatsink to cool my E8400 to 4ghz +
must fit in my antec 900
Maximus formula motherboard
__________________

RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: CPU Cooling

The Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme, or if you're on a tight budget the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro.

Thermal compound is VERY important. Get MX-2, its supposed to be the best. If you can't find that anywhere, get regular Arctic Silver 5.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: CPU Cooling

dont get the maximus formula. It wont allow you to set fsb:dram freq ratios manually. The fsb and dram freq are linked no matter what you do. Get the quad gt. or ask ste what he has, I think that is his board

so if you plan on going really high fsb on your e8400 then your ram will need to run at the same speed. (I am running 500fsb on my e8400 right now, and I had to slow up my ram ALOT to get it to run at 1000mhz)

as for cooling, what he ^ said.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: CPU Cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
dont get the maximus formula. It wont allow you to set fsb:dram freq ratios manually. The fsb and dram freq are linked no matter what you do. Get the quad gt. or ask ste what he has, I think that is his board

so if you plan on going really high fsb on your e8400 then your ram will need to run at the same speed. (I am running 500fsb on my e8400 right now, and I had to slow up my ram ALOT to get it to run at 1000mhz)

as for cooling, what he ^ said.
k well i have no idea what ur talkin abot, Explain
i have this ram i think
Corsair 2GB XMS2-8500D Dominator TWIN2X Dual Channel DDR2 Kit (2 x 1GB) at Memory Express Computers
and already have the mobo
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: CPU Cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanWhitell View Post
k well i have no idea what ur talkin abot, Explain
i have this ram i think
Corsair 2GB XMS2-8500D Dominator TWIN2X Dual Channel DDR2 Kit (2 x 1GB) at Memory Express Computers
and already have the mobo
well you are set. I thought you had ddr2-800 ram.

When you up the fsb on the maximus, you have to up the speed of the ram freq as well. They are linked to each other. Most motherboards you can unlink them, but some of the new x38's you cant. But your ram freq is already at 500 or a little more, so it wont matter for you. Unless you are gonna run your e8400 at higher than 4.5
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: CPU Cooling

K thanks for your help
__________________
E8400 @ 4.0 GHz . Maximus Formula . Antec 900 . HD 3870 Crossfire . X2 WD Velociraptor RAID 0 . 2 GB Dominator 1066
http://www.youtube.com/user/VEEKDOOR
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: CPU Cooling

No problem.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU cooling Adhesive spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-27-2008 11:59 AM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro not lowering CPU temp. from stock cooler youngflyer12 Overclocking and Modding 19 01-10-2008 10:47 PM
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Need 2nd opinion on CPU cooling issue DJ EndurancE Overclocking and Modding 4 12-10-2007 04:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.